John Danaher 4 steps of jiu jitsu

in #bjj6 years ago

I recently got the chance to view the Joe Rogan podcast and he had special guest John Danaher on.  John Danher from viewing interviews and just hearing from guys who have trained under him is a mad scientist when it comes to bjj.  In the interview he talked about a lot of things, but the thing that impressed me the most was what he called the 4 steps of jiu jitsu.  He basically quizzed Joe on what he thought the 4 steps would be.  

The first step in jiu jitsu is to take your opponent to the ground.  The reason given for this was absolutely brilliant and you even saw it play out in the UFC 220 main event with Miocic vs Nganou.  The reason for taking your opponent to the ground is to take away their ability to use explosiveness when it comes to striking and effectively hitting you.

The second step was to get past your opponents legs.  The reason being is because even on his back your opponent may be able to hit you with up kicks or possibly chokes of his own.

The third step given was to use a series of moves to get in a better position to strike and or submit.  He also explained how the positions in jiu jitsu such as knee on belly, mount and back mount are all awarded points in sports competition based on the ability to attack and not be attacked back.  Being knee on belly is worth less points than mount or back position this is the reasoning why.  He said knee on belly is worth less because it is a more unstable position.

Step four was to finish.  Use a choke or submission or attack with strikes to finish your opponent.

Now this might seem simplistic as can be, but in a way jiu jitsu is simple.  I think that is what I like about it.  I would love to get the opportunity one day to go to a seminar with him and just learn a bit of his philosophy.  I think sometimes we over complicate things and in my opinion jiu jitsu really is simple.  It is a tough sport, but in the end it really is as simple as going step 1-4.  

What are your thoughts on John Danaher.? Has anyone had the chance to train under him?  If you caught the podcast what did you think of what he said and also who is your favorite bjj player rt now?  Feel free to comment and please vote for my post if you like what I have to say

Sort:  

I need to finish up listening to that episode. I have never trained under him, but I did just do a Tom DeBlass seminar last weekend. Granted, two totally different guys, but you get to hear a lot about technique and ideology from John through Tom.

As far as the podcast went, I agree... just looking at it from those 4 principles makes jiu jitsu simple.

Nice good to hear. I hope the seminar was awesome. It's great learning different ideas. It's amazing how many people will do the same move with a weird new twist that can just blow your mind sometimes.

Haha
First step - get up close to your opponent and flop on your butt.

Ive been to tournaments where that seems to be the best option.. lol

Good job! Thanks to @embomb701 you have planted 0.05 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14513.00. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

I was actually just watching it presently on youtube (I had seen it briefly before but this is a longer version) I disagree with the striking example he used but what you said about 'attacking' makes more sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60335.73
ETH 3297.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43