Cost Benefit Jr. donation to Bangladesh school

in #bittrex6 years ago (edited)

Earlier this week I had the honor of being a guest curator on the Whaleshares curation show. I had a great time with @nikflossus, @kotturinn, and my good friend @kubbyelizabeth! I also got to meet @lindahas. We talked briefly on the show and later privately about a school project she's involved with: @schoolforSDG4, a small hut serving as a school for 60 underprivileged kids at Gashitula, Sylhet in Bangladesh.

aziz.JPG

Linda put me in touch with Aziz and I learned more about this school project. I was humbled that Linda and Aziz thought my economics book for kids might be useful to their school, and I was honored to send off a copy to Aziz yesterday. The book is written for younger kids, aged 8 to 10, so hopefully the book will be easily read and understood as these students are still learning English.

IMG_0133.PNG

Cost Benefit Jr.™: Stories in Microeconomics is a literature-based curriculum in microeconomics for elementary-aged kids. Students as young as eight can learn concepts like supply & demand, opportunity cost, and diminishing marginal utility when they’re presented in simple stories.

Aziz has posted about how education is important to the kids' ability to attain any freedom in their lives. I'd like to also think that learning basic economics will foster freedom, too. Some of the kids must leave their studies to work for their family's basic survival. It's my hope that the more these kids learn about basic economics, the more empowered they will be to financially survive and then thrive.

Cost Benefit Jr. teaches kids about how our actions are always prefaced with incentives. It also illustrates the power of decentralized markets and how market forces like competition and actions like saving money can create wealth.

Aziz will be evaluating the book when it arrives; if he feels it will be helpful to the kids in the school, I'll be organizing a shipment of more of them to Bangladesh. If you want to be involved, either with the donation of Cost Benefit Jr. or with making other donations, please let me or @lindahas or @azizbd know!

(Sorry for using the bittrex tag... somehow, in editing a former post I managed to re-post it here. So I quickly substituted the re-post with text for the next post I was working on: this one. Unfortunately, I can't make a change to the first tag posted.)

Sort:  

What a neat project, @geke! How can people donate to support the cause?

First, I'd ask @azizbd or @lindahas - they have a few different projects going on for the school, one involving fruit that's already underway. If you'd like to be involved in the book aspect, we'll need to wait and see if the book will work for their students. If so, we'll have more information soon!

Hello @jayna , The best way you can support the cause is supporting the blog posts by @SchoolForSDG4 as 100% of the blog rewards even SP is considered as donation for the school. We have a surplus funds last few months and the school is fully funded by steemit community support. We wanted to buy a book from @geke but she learnt about the school and decided to donate it for the kids. It is so kind of her. I hope she will able to raise enough funds for shipping to the slum school in Bangladesh.

School received great donation last couple of months from steemians by votes, by direct donation to school account. A group of steemians ensure the transparency of funds which I mentioned in this post .

I will discuss with @geke and @lindahas after receiving the book. If we find there is need of more copies , you can join to support for books aspect and it will be awesome.

Oh I need this for my niece. She’ll be 8 in a couple of years and I want to start getting her reading your books!! :)

You just got an upvote from Sndbox-Alpha! Please help us find more great contents about Meet Up and Philanthropy. Click here for more information.

Nice post..
thanks for sharing..

Thanks a lot for sharing your valuable post....
Carry on next
Best of luck..
I will still wait for your next post....

Good Your post...I like

oh...that's great.....

thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29