You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Same shit, different Exchange... throwing Bittrex the Red Flag! Use with caution

in #bittrex7 years ago

I had noticed another problem with Bittrex. There is a very good chance that they have software executing a "front running" scam. So you place an order to sell, and almost instantly, there's an order lower than yours. This can be normal market movement, however, if it happens ALL the time, it could possibly be front running which causes you to drop your price to get your asset sold. aka Execute your trade.

I thought it a minor annoyance until an experienced trader I know mentioned it as potential front running. Just FWIW.

Sort:  

It's quite easy to run a bot that places an order to front run other orders. It doesn't need to be an inside job. Anyone with a Bittrex account can do it by adding and removing orders using API calls and making them relative to other orders.

Even with my rudimentary python knowledge I managed to get a bot running on Poloniex a couple of years back. I can see how these can be annoying for those placing orders manually.

AH. I see. Oh jeepers.
I might as well kill myself now. It's just not in my nature to act like that, so no wonder I'm always losing. Have fun with your savage selves, humanity!

I don't think purchasing coins/ trading needs to be that complicated for most people. Just decide the price you want to buy/ sell at and place your order accordingly. Sure people may front run occasionally however it shouldn't make much of a difference if you're not day trading or running a bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42