You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring Bitsquare. The sad reality of USD trading volumes (Part 2).

in #bitsquare8 years ago

I have had great experience using Bitsquare. My first USD transaction through clearXchange was for 0.1 btc as a test. Using Bitsquare's feature to set a trailing price to USDBTC I was able to complete the first trade after leaving the software running for a day or two at a 2% above the current USD price.

My second test was for a larger amount at 1% above the current USD price and also took a day or two.

It is important to leave the software running as other traders can only see your orders when you are logged on the network.

Yes if you need bitcoin instantly the current spreads are very large but if you are able to be patient and wait a few days (with the software running) then eventually someone will accept your order for less than 5% over current price. As long as you have a trailing percentage (for setting trailing price as a buy order you need to use negative percentage for example 1% over current price would be entered -1% in the software on your buy order) you will never have to cancel the order and can wait for a seller who accepts your request. After the request is accepted that price is locked in while you go to the next step and each party verifies the USD has been sent and received.

Remember the service is relatively new so I am sure over time it will be easier and more attractive to buy from current listings. However, in the meantime I still find it a better option than Local Bitcoin Trading or using Coinbase. I am looking forward to my next paycheck when I can list another buy order on Bitsquare. Long live decentralization :).

Sort:  

Yes. Long live decentralization.

Thanks for sharing your experience. I'll try running the software for a few days and leave my offer up. I set the trailing percentage. That seems to be an essential feature to use given the way BTC prices are moving and the long wait time for trades to occur. Also, I'm glad you mentioned using a negative percentage on a buy order. I didn't realize that at the beginning and was wondering why noone was interested in my order. I thought 5% was a great premium, but then realized I'd been asking them to pay me a premium for buying their coin, LOL. I fixed that in succeding offers, but as I stated in my post above, I didn't get any takers in the time frame I was looking for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29