You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mob Mentality On Display And Bitshares Loses A Good Man: Good Job People

in #bitshares6 years ago

I share many of your concerns my friend. These sorts of events are going to happen and the mob mentality is a huge concern. I've seen people here attack others and I've witnessed their demeanor turn from a loving, caring individual to a vial and venomous hatred. It is astounding the changes I've witnessed and the hatred, violence and coercion that results brings great sadness to my heart.

Fear really does lead to the dark side and platforms like this can magnify and accelerate the path as there is little to no 'authority' to stop them. However, it will shift over time and I am confident that with people like yourself walking the path of peace and leading by example, we can influence them onto a path of peace when we confront their behaviour and shine a light on the ugliness we witness.

Mob mentality will diminish over time, but the transition will be ugly. As the government continue to attack the infrastructure that threatens their very survival, we will see more instances like this. We are confronted with the reality that violence and coercion will continue for some time until this all settles out. It could take years. In the mean time, we stand our ground and shine a light on the abhorrent behaviour of those who choose to attack when they are angry, scared or hurting.

I've lost friends to the dark side and I pray that we can bring them back. Peace to you my friend for having the courage to call people out on their violence. I support you in your drive for peace and prosperity.

Sort:  

Thank you @wwf.

I felt the same thing. There are people on here that I see talking about love and peace....about improving humanity and then, boom, they turn on a dime. Unfortunately, that is part of acceptance, accepting where other people are at this moment. As much as we want to change others, we cannot. Even changing ourselves is difficult at time.

The government attacks are going to really put a monkey wrench in the march towards peace. You are right, that entity is going to attack that which threatens its survival. It will take a long time for all of this to pan out. I only hope I live long enough to see the next phase completed.

We need STEEM to be priced higher....it seems the world is a better place when STEEM is more valuable. 😁

I think we are on the same page. The only thing that I question is your view that STEEM is the answer. For me, I see it as a tool and if we use it right, it can liberate people from the grips of the fictional constructs. But in order for that to happen, we need to use this tool to help empower people, educate them and provide the means within which to be free. That requires land, knowledge, experience, tools, seeds, animals, housing and all the other tools one needs to be able to live off the land and be independent of the body politic and the corporate empire. Steem itself will not 'make' us free but rather can be a tool that we can leverage to work towards freedom.

For me, if it all shut down tomorrow I would still be able to survive and thrive. Even those with a million steem, if it all shut down tomorrow, they would perish. Our needs come directly from Mother Earth, not tokens. All the tokens do is allow us to trade so that we can acquire what we need. However, there is still a huge dependency on the system to deliver those goods and services. Any disruption in that, and people starve or freeze to death. The state still controls the infrastructure. So it is our job to replace that infrastructure so that we are no longer dependent upon the corporate empire. Steem could be the grease to get that wheel turning. Lots of work to do to accomplish that level of freedom if we use the tools for that end.

I suspect people will use steem to just pay their bills and keep the dependencies going. As such, it will not save them at all.

I think @taskmaster4450's comment about the STEEM price was just a joke.

I absolutely agree with what you are saying here and have started following you based on this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50