Buying BitShares - Noob guide to open a Bitshares account and fund wallet.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitshares7 years ago

Yesterday I decided to invest a small amount in BitShares given that the price is currently very attractive for an investment and because the platform is constantly improved as you can read on various posts here on Steemit.

In this post I like to show the experience I had funding my bitshares wallet and initial difficulties in doing so. The information might be helpful to new users who like to open a bithsares account as well.

1. Get BitShares wallet

To my knowledge there are three types of bitshares wallets.

Web wallets

Desktop App

  • BitShares2-Light (Windows, Mac, Linux)

IMG1.png

2. Open Bitshares Account

I used the BitShares2-Light desktop app for Mac and when I first opened it I had two options to open an account.

  • Account Model
  • Wallet Model

I went for the Account Model as I understood using this account type gives you the flexibility to login from different computers while the wallet model is best used if you use mainly one computer and browser (Someone please correct me if that is wrong).

It is recommended to us a very strong password of at least 20 characters. I used a SHA-256 Hash calculator to generate a strong random password for me.

IMG2.png
This is just an example image and not my actual password.

2. Funding BitShares Account

After I created the account using the BitShares2-Light app I struggled to find a way to buy Bitshares since there wasn't any tab that showed Withdraw/Deposit initially.

At that point I neatly gave up since I also couldn't find any good guides on how to use the wallet on Google, Steemit or Youtube.

Eventually I logged in again and to my relief I could see a Withdraw/Deposit tab I used to fund my account with Bitshares.

IMG4.png

IMG3.png

Hopefully this little guide was useful to you.

Sort:  

Good thing I invested a few months ago

Hey mate
Thanks for the guide
I have trouble to connect on the light wallet on Mac
I'm in New Zealand and I have a "failed sync to API server" page and I can't do anything. I tried to chose a Honk Kong server, changing my clock etc but nothing.
Do you have an idea? Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55