You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitshares - A Lambo Parked in a Farm Barn

in #bitshares7 years ago (edited)

Everything on your list is on our roadmap, but you must understand that we have to do this without causing centralization around Cryptonomex. We worked very hard to hand off the leadership roles to the next generations of entrepreneurs and it has been working nicely.

That said, the more successful BTS becomes the more such leaders will find it worthwhile to emerge and take risks and, well, lead!

So we aren't about to announce that we are personally going to do everything we all know needs to be done. We are going to change the conditions so that there will be a FLOOD of new talent competing to do several versions of them!

We will be putting the BitShares platform on the map in the following way:

  • Sponsoring the Billion Hero Challenge aiming to give away $1B to Good Causes sometime next year.
  • Attracting top tier celebrities and leaders to this cause and helping them get their networks of fans and friends involved.
  • Gamifying the Challenge to teach those attracted about "Fast Bitcoin, BitShares, and the Hero."
  • Teaming with businesses to adapt their business models to use the BitShares network and the Hero Transmatrix Engine business model.
  • Bringing in and training new users to take an active role in planning and voting for use of the BitShares reserve fund - overcoming the resistance that has been blocking the use of that resource. Each celebrity embassador will be a proxy for their fans and will route their feedback into what features BitShares should add next.

Doing all this will scale not only the billion-hero-prize, but our own war chests and those of the entrepreneurs we want to attract. It will also scale the size of the BitShares Reserve which will be worth many billions.

And all the while, we are doing it without directly taking charge of what the community and its leaders should be doing for themselves.

And THAT's why we're not publishing our own plan to do all that you suggest. We are going to STIMULATE it to get done and stay out of any leadership role ourselves.

This Revolution will be decentralized.

Sort:  

That is Brilliant Stan - the epitome of reason :)

How cool is to have the BTS godfather itself replying to my post??? :) :) :)

Thanks a lot for your response Stan! I'm looking forward to see the plan mentioned above getting in Motion! Lets go to the moon!!!!

I buy $50 per month of crypto's on payday based on a month of research. This month will all be BitShares.

Seems to have real potential to be the standout currency in the long term when the currencies settle down and the most useful rise to the top.

Thanks for the comment answerblack! Welcome to the BTS clan! :)

Excellent! As I read the marchesejp's post, the area that made me uneasy with his assessment was wanting to centralise roles and titles. I thought that the old hierarchical model of organisation was what Bitshares was created to overcome. Concepts as stigmergy as explained by Heather Marsh's "Binding Chaos" come to mind. Applications like Loomio are also moving along the concept lines Stan et al have developed.

Heather opened my mind to stigmergy and Stan's ideas and the decentralised Bitshares vehicle operating along those principles have helped me unlearn the supposed "education" grad schools crank out of the cookie cutter models of yesteryear. On ya, Stan.

I do share marchesejp's observations that Bitshares is like a Lambo in a Farm Yard(ish). I, too, was daunted by the learning curve Bitshares presented. Supporting the HERO the first time cost me a chunk of BTS - which does motivate one to do adequate homework before venturing into the playground. Got that sorted out now and using the HERO margin system and will buy HERO for hodling at a good price point. I'm also of the opinion Bitshares is an elegant and totally undervalued - for the immediate present - concept.

I recall a film, "Field of Dreams," where the protagonist firmly believed, "Build it and they will come." I think Stan called the HERO a Dreamcoin initially. Way to go, Stan et al! We're coming. More and more are coming daily and fortunately, you made an arena capable of holding a global population. Stan, You're The Man!

Thanks for your comments Tasmansee, I agree with you that in theory this concept is much better than the existing one and I really hope that it will work.. My proposal of having "centralized" roles is to help BTS to achieve it's full potential sooner, as I really don't get why BTS is under the radar in comparison to other coins while it has much better technology.. So I think it might need a temporary push to make some things to move faster...

I really like your quote about field of dreams, I actually thought about including it on the article.. so I think we are on the same tune... And I couldn't agree more that Stan is the Man! Correction, Stan and Dan are! I once asked Stan what water they used to drink at home to have a family of geniuses! :)

The more I read about BTS the more I like it, and I have so much to learn. But aren't you concerned that by trying to make it so many things at once, it may not become really good at anyone thing? I agree with creating the environment that will give rise to the necessary leaders and their roles, is there a concern that the massive scope will also generate massive blindspots? I really like this, I'm looking for the right time or fit for me to jump fully in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93