Thinking About Creating A New UIA Token (BALLS) On BitShares -- Any Interest From Steemit Community?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitshares7 years ago (edited)

Since I joined this incredible platform a little over a month ago, I've found myself spending less and less time on places like reddit. However, there is one scratch that steemit hasn't been able to itch for me: my absolute love of sports.

Steemit has a small sports community, but it hasn't taken off yet. I'd like to change that.

For the last ten years I've been at least partially employed as a sportswriter/consultant, owning my own network of NFL sites and working for companies like Bleacher Report, USA Today and Comcast Sports Net. I've cultivated a large network of writers and editors whose talents I'd like to bring to steemit, rather than having them chasing clicks on ad-supported websites.

To do that, I'd need some monetary incentive to give to these talented writers. Starting out earning pennies on a post read by (maybe) 15 people isn't going to cut it.

I was used to a website with 100,000+ unique visitors per month before coming here. It's a stark contrast. However, I understand what steemit is trying to do and feel that STEEM is the future of content rewards, not CPM advertising. The others might need some convincing.

I want those 100k+ visitors to come to steemit instead. Don't you?

With the pending start of Peerplays, writing about sports gambling will also be a high-profile gig.

Here is my very much in-progress proposal. I aim to create a user-issued asset (UIA) on @bitshares with the help of @virtualgrowth.

These tokens would act as a share in our group of sportswriters and give one rights to a share of the profits generated from our posts here on steemit. Fifty percent of our weekly profits would be distributed to holders of a full token. Two full tokens would get you two full shares.

I was thinking BALLS (tee hee) for the ticker symbol. A simple name that connotes exactly what it is our community would be doing.

That's my rough sketch for what the new UIA would do. Price, distribution, etc... would still need to be worked out, but before I did all the hard work of setting it up, I wanted to do some market research and see if anybody would be interested in supporting such an endeavor.

Leave a comment with any constructive feedback, questions, or support. Thanks for reading!

(image via MensFitness)

Sort:  

I would totally support you @nepd - I think it's a fabulous idea. Now, if the look on my husband's face was precious when I said I own WANGCHANGE, imagine the look when I say I own BALLS.

Hmm... On the one hand, he may say I already have his. On the other he may say I already have balls that clank. LOL I'm looking forward to the progress on this! :)

WANG and BALLS. Oh my...

I kinda like the idea, the more UIA the better...

Go for it !!

Sounds good! I'll be in touch.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@virtualgrowth I also aim to create a user-issued asset (UIA) on @bitshares and need some help. Can you contact me please.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39