One of My Successful Trading Strategies: The STEEM : BTS market

in #bitshares6 years ago (edited)

Gains

This isn't my main trading strategy, but it is one that has worked very well for me.

I really like STEEM, because Steemit is where I learned the most about crypto, and I really like BTS as the Bitshares DEX is where I do all my trading.

Trade back and forth between two coins for small gains

steem-bts.jpg

Because I like both of these coins, there's very low risk in this trade. If either one spikes in value or drops against the other, I still win because I'm always holding a coin I want (because I want both of them).

Here's How I do it

On the Bitshares DEX (I usually use the OpenLedger gateway), I use Bitshares to place an order to buy STEEM. I am usually a "Market Maker" in that I place a buy order instead of taking someone else's sell order. If someone takes my buy order, then I get STEEM. I then place a sell order with that STEEM, pricing it so that I would get more Bitshares back than what I bought it for.

For example, I may buy 10 Bitshares worth of STEEM, then place a sell order on that STEEM for 11 Bitshares. If someone takes my sell order, I just made 1 Bitshare or 10%. That's a simplistic example and my actually numbers are usually different, but it works.

If for some reason, the price of Bitshares really rises against STEEM and I can't sell my STEEM back for more Bitshares than I bought it for... I can always transfer it to Steemit and Power Up. It's a Win-Win trading situation. I gain even if I lose the trade.

Feel free to use this strategy

I'd like to help more people get into trading on the Bitshares DEX. I think the most valuable information I've learned here on Steemit was finding out about Bitshares.

Feel free to comment below if you have questions and I'll do my best to answer them.

Helping People Gain Blockchain Freedom!

-- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

Nice! Thanks for sharing your trading technique. I've never traded BTS but I've made pretty decent gains trading steem-btc and sbd-btc on bittrex especially this past couple of weeks. I'll checkout bitshares DEX.

Thanks for commenting. I am on a mission to tell people about crypto, especially Bitshares. It delivers on the promises of crypto: nearly instant transfers, low transaction fees and decentralized (no custodial risk on the DEX, compared to centralized exchanges).

I gain even if I lose the trade.

I love this mindset. These are my two favorite coins also so maybe I should participate in this more as well. I have a nice stash of each so I could help increase the market volume there as well.

Thanks Luke! It would be great if you participated in the STEEM:BTS market on the DEX.

I've been playing a little bit with it. :)

😂 so I'm not alone doing this. I ended up on the wrong side now and have serious thoughts of powering down more.

really you are such a master on this

Cool. I like that idea. I hope Bitshares DEX will make it more user friendly too.

This is one perfectly fine trading strategy. Thanks for posting your technique, @matthewdavid! Another strategy that is similar removes emotion from the equation ("I like these 'instruments' for what they represent."), and has you simply "buy low" and "sell high" (Duh, obvious). Your strategy gives you a way to focus on specific #cryptocurrency and stick with them! Keep it going!!

That's the technique that I use for all my coins. The ones in green I take profits and put them into red ones. I like the steem bts trade as they are some of my favorites too.
Thanks for sharing

I had no idea opening a Bitshares wallet was that easy (Read the other article you linked to). Also they have a decentralized exchange?. I was planning on buying a modest amount of crypto soon and those seem like appealing features.

wow congratulation dear. I also got good idea. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97