Tutorial on How To Move Account from OpenLedger.info to OpenLedger.io and Not Lose Funds Access!

in #bitshares8 years ago (edited)

EDIT: Old urls work, treat this as a guide how to backup your wallet and move between URLs since Bitshares DEXes can be hosted by many people on many domains.

I think there is no public information about it yet but OpenLedger switched from .info to .io domain.

I found this out after posting tutorial about betting on Winklevoss MPA on Bitshares yesterday.

If you never had account on decentralized exchange then simply go to OpenLedger now.

But if you have it and want to be sure you are secure, go with this tutorial.

Login to old OpenLedger and do backup


Just get there and make a backup file [.bin] up here - https://bitshares.openledger.info/#/settings -> backup
Its very important because if you loose this file or .info gets offline and you didnt have it.. Your money is gone forever.
Download it and save to secure location.

Go to new OpenLedger


Simply visit the new unique URL (alot better than before imo!) http://openledger.io
Go to Restore Wallet from Backup [on the left) and just load the file + put in the password.

Enjoy being safe and secure!

Now by using this exchange you are secure from disappearing exchanges or their funds and you are safe as you have backups of you wallets. Remember Bitshares was created by @dan the beloved creator of Steemit!

Follow, Resteem and VOTE UP @kingscrown for 0day cryptocurrency news and tips!

Sort:  

Hello @kingscrown,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

DOGE may pump again to 200 satoshi one day again, good to hold some

I was a last minute scramble to get on the show and get settled but here is the This Week in Bitcoin show that finished about an hour ago -- all 3 guests were Canadian which was a first for sure, for Adam's show! I have not been on a show of any sort in a long time, so I am finding my legs still LOL -- 40 mins approx. Discussed Liberty/Steemit/Bitcoin/LiteCoin etc.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/my-first-appearance-on-this-week-in-bitcoin-just-finished-here-is-the-link-to-the-show-steemit-was-discussed-also

  • Have a good weekend.

Your OpenLedger now link above is pointing to: http://fuk.io/openledger .. It still works for me if I use the secure version https://fuk.io/openledger .. I not sure why you need a forward here, but I do see that it quickly forwards to openledger.io.

I am a bit out of the loop, but I did send Ronny Boesing a message to verify that they are moving to openledger.io. I'll give an update when I get a reply.

Hello to you all, I would like to point out that it is not a question of changing or moving anything, merely a point of having one more option where to find OpenLedger. All domains exisiting before still works also with referral links, we have now 6 different domains and sub domains actually depending on location in use and they rely on 3 servers with accompanies nodes all made to insure a constant use of the BitShares network. People have been asking for a shorter name for openledger than the normally used www.bitshares.openledger.info. Now you have it in both www.openledger.io; www.openledger.co; and www.openledger.hk and the following sub domains www.bitshares.openledger.info used when you are directed from the new official information site of OpenLedger activivies called www.openledger.info by the same name. You also have the sub domain eu.openledger.info and the dex.openledger.info. All you need is to pick any one of these 6 domains and you are good, and they are all active when it comes to referral link as well. There is no need to panic, it is done for everyone to feel more comfortable, so use whichever one of above, nothing has been pulled as such and we never will without telling long time before if that should even be the case. We are building for long term use, not taking down. Thanks

Ronny Boesing
CEO
OpenLedger ApS

Thanks just as you know rhere were new registration issues on .info so ive suggested .io in this article. Anyways good to have a few URLs :)

added edit to keep this clear - EDIT: Old urls work, treat this as a guide how to backup your wallet and move between URLs since Bitshares DEXes can be hosted by many people on many domains.

sure update, but i have talked with him and verified:

ill check on the https issue - thanks man!

but yes check if im telling the truth before upvoting :)

or just upvote now and if Ronny claims this is not his words you are welcome to downvote ;) @jamesc

@jamesc how do u make 0% upvotes? :) is it from CLI ?

Hi, I don't mean to be rude but title should be lose. Sorry!

Thanks, fixed :) I do make mistakes, no worries!

What happen if I simply create a new account on OL.io and transfer funds to new account?

its just different URLs, the network is the same. thing is OL doesnt keep your password so if 1 url dies and you dont have backup and cache is lost.. money are lost. if you have .bin you are good for any URL that uses Bitshares DEX

Hi friends, I can not access my openledger wallet .... I forgot my password, I just saved the .bin file, is there a way to recover my funds? Thank you.

That is also a fat ass wallet. Should I upvote you with one account and re balance your balance with my negative balancing, or should I upvote it with all 4 and give some back to the people?

lol, and look at all the bots flagging helping me play robinhood. LMAO

Funny how I rip almost $1.00 off per upvote, per negative account, instead of flag. lol. Guess the whales forgot how to "balance" when they attack and make people, ey? Good day to you my friend. I'll refrain for now on a grid point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91