Announcing Physical BitShares Silver

in #bitshares6 years ago

The BitShares community is amazing. I suspect there is also some overlap between BTS hodlers and silver stackers. Therefore DaoStreet is offering a unique opportunity to combine your interest in BitShares and silver with a commemorative BTS silver piece.

I am a member of the steemsilvergold (SSG) community and am impressed with the all-around good vibes around there. Cryptoassets and precious metals are two of my interests so it's awesome to indulge in both and not to mention they're a great group of people to interact with. Did you know that one of the members of the SSGncommunity is a real-life silversmith? https://steemit.com/@pit-bullion

I was fortunate enough to win a raffle earlier this year from Pit Bullion himself so I can attest to the quality of his work.
Screenshot 2018-07-15 18.27.12.png

Now I know the most rabid crypto community is probably in BitShares. And I suspect there are a fair amount of precious metals advocates and silver stackers in the BTS ecosystem. So I decided to put the wheels in motion on creating a BitShares themed silver piece. We've already ordered the metal stamp and it is on its way to the 'forge' as we speak. It will be based on this logo for BTS:
Screenshot 2018-07-15 18.14.40.png

We've got a couple options for the pieces. A two ounce hexagon:
Screenshot 2018-07-15 18.18.31.png

And a 5 ounce bar:
Screenshot 2018-07-15 18.17.03.png

Just imagine owning a piece of BitShares history with your very own tangible representation of our strong community. The Steem community has beaten BTS to the punch on this, but something tells me we'll be able to out-do them. It is early stages in this project so I'm happy to get feedback. We can hash out some details in the comments or in a future post. But I could not wait any longer to ask for your input! Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

wow ! very nice...

Ohhh, yes please. Could they ship to Canada?

Sure we can work that out. I would recommend the 5 oz in that case.

That is an interesting idea. First of all, @pit-bullion is not the only silversmith. There are more than ten silversmiths of the highest level of craftmanship. I will not write the list here, for I can forget one, but if you want it, we can talk at discord.
Let's go back to your idea. How do you intend to sell it? Using SBD, steem, bts or fiat? How much? If you use the tag steemsilvergold you will reach more people. How many will they be? Mintage is an important way to make the offer successful or a failure. Depending on the premium you want to achieve, lower mintages are always better.
These are the first questions. We can talk more about it.

@ronaldoavelino - I'm glad you find this interesting. You are the resident expert on Steem and silver!

I am thinking it wise to start with a small lot - perhaps 10 pieces and gauge interest from there. I think the premium will be set high enough to compensate the silversmith and recoup the cost of the stamp (one-time cost). I am leaning towards BTS and or fiat to begin with, but if the steem community is also interested of course we can include Steem/SBD (lest that make it all too complicated). What do you think?

I will be on discord tomorrow evening as well as every evening besides Wednesday this week.

Is bitshare is an exchante?

yes it is a 5 year old decentralized exchange.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This is great news, anything that promotes credibility is great.

Very cool, I’m sure there will be a few takers :)
Maybe they could also be made to commemorate 5 years of the BitShares blockchain in operation and launch of new Bitshares.org website arriving imminently!

I'm sure you're very excited about the idea... As you may or may not know, I've been working on a new invention... From a simple thought, to putting it on Paper, to making a Prototype, seeing that it actually works, then Fine Tuning it, is all very exciting... It sure has become hard, keeping it a Secret... I can't wait until I'm able to reveal it to everyone... I'm sure you're feeling the same type of excitement with your idea...

Thanks for checking it out.

I would like to hear more about your idea.

I can't reveal what it is at this time, but I'm sure the Manufactures will not be able to keep up with the demand... If I'm correct, (and I'm 99.9% sure I am) they will be in big demand, all over the World... I would like to see them Manufactured here in the United States...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81