How can I recover Bitshares X

in #bitshares7 years ago

I had an old Bitshares account, now when I try and launch the wallet it only lets me create a new account and I have no way to import into the new client. I've tried with the .json back ups and I get an error message each time, "Cannot read property 'toAddressString' of null"

Is there something I'm missing or have I lost my Bitshares since I haven't updated the wallet in a long time?

Sort:  

What's the version of your bitsharesx client? You need an export json file from the very last version: 0.9.3c.

It isn't necessary to do any blockchain syncing, is it? There was a guy complaining about that on the Bitshares FB...

Seems a shame that the current light wallet can't do whatever 0.9.3c can do..

The current light wallet is for Bitshares 2.0 which is a completely different blockchain than v0. 9.3c so it's natural that it can't do what the old wallet can.

I just posted your question in the bitshares Telegram. Hopefully someone will help you get things figured out.

I had to download BitShares 0.9.3c and then export the .json from this version in order to import and claim the funds in the new client. I hope that helps The guide above posted by @xeroc is what worked for me :)

Very glad you got this resolved. :)

I'm trying to do the same thing. Last time I logged in was in 2014 and I was using 0.6.2. For some reason my password doesn't work when I try to import my wallet. Any suggestions?

When I log into Bitshares X I get "Failed to resotr wallet backup. Your original wallet has been restored. Errror: Bad Cast (7) invalid name 'withdraw_vesting_type' in enum 'bts:blockchain::withdraw_conditions_types'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64