How to move BTS from Poloniex to Freedom Ledger - 2 errors at first before learning the correct transfer method

in #bitshares8 years ago (edited)

I have all types of different online and offline wallets, but I have to say Freedom Ledger was doing my head in a bit. I'm probably like a lot of others who want to meet the deadline to have funds in their open/freedom ledger wallet to get in on the PEERPLAY share drop.

I thought I finally got it figured out so I went to deposit in Freedom Ledger. Below is what is shows

So I went to Poloniex and hit withdrawal next to BTS and put in the account number listed with no memo. (doesn't say to put a memo so I left it blank - is this the problem?). Both tests say Complete: Error

So I was confused what I'm doing wrong but thanks to @truthtaco showing me that you just enter your Freedom Ledger wallet username in the address field like the example below (replace truthtaco with your username for Freedom Ledger).

I've just done a small text and it worked. So now off to the races. Thanks and I hope this info helps anyone else that was missing the top line comment on the deposit page and just looking at the deposit address.

Sort:  

You're trying to send to a BKS address instead of BTS according to the picture.

Instead what you need to do is click the withdraw deposit tab and read what it says at the very top. Here is example of what mine says...

"Receiving BTS
In order to receive BTS from another person or from an exchange, simply give them your account name: truthtaco "

That's not my actual account name but I just put something in as an example.

When backing up your openledger account, you just back it up once, store the backup file somewhere safe (preferably in more than one place) and you still need to save your password as well.

OK, so using your example. If my username was truthtaco then this is how I would enter it in the Poloniex withdraw

Or do I put in the address supplied and put the username in the memo?

Sorry it goes opposite of what is normally done so I just want to make sure before I try another test.

You put nothing in the memo. Your username is your address.

The only relevant information is what's in quotes here

"Receiving BTS
In order to receive BTS from another person or from an exchange, simply give them your account name: truthtaco "

Everything below that is for depositing other stuff.... like the BKS in the picture. BKS is not BTS

What you have in the picture is correct, just replace truthtaco with the username freedom ledger gives you. Also always test with a small amount first.

It worked and I've updated this post to be more of an informative post to help others. Thanking you of course!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97