Helping Bitshares Network

in #bitshares6 years ago (edited)

It's been almost a year since I have started blogging on STEEMIT. My life was a series of up and down, until I found out about crypto. At first, it was difficult to understand how crypto works, each platform has their own structure, plus the fact that it is really difficult to trade crypto because of it's sudden price movements. But everything happens for a reason, I can finally say that I have enough crypto to pay for downpayment for my own house when the price rises to my expectation.

To thank the community for helping me achieve this, I will start a campaign to run my own bitshares node here in the Philippines(since my apartment now is safe and secure, it is also flood free).

Trading on Bitshares DEX here in the Philippines are difficult when it comes to having a good connection. When users first open up Bitshares wallet web or the downloadable client, they often see this page.

Untitled.png

For new users that doesn't have much idea about trading, seeing this page will only push them further not to use our platform. Maybe if I can run a good connection node here in the Philippines, things will change for the better for Filipino users.

What I need to setup my own server node here? I only ask the community crypto worth of $2000 so I can setup a pc and a good internet connection that is good. For that I need the said amount for internet monthly payment and some extra for electric bill payment since my salary hardly can give me enough for my monthly living. My current internet connection is 3mbps which costs me Php1300($26) monthly. Increasing the speed and bandwidth of my internet will also increase my monthly internet bill. Running a computer 24 hours a day for a week will also increase my monthly bill, that I only suggest that this can be done by upvoting my posts here on STEEMIT.

So how can I do this? Once I have estimated amount of SBD and STEEM through donations, I'll finally start setting up everything needed to run our own Bitshares node here in the Philippines.

Thanks for @herrleger for helping me get back on this track. We have 5 STEEM for now and we are still far away from the said amount. Help me help the Philippines to have a better connection to the Bitshares network.

BTW, it's good to see that crypto market are already recovering from the previous crash.

37353506_1799821220125123_3087644056289804288_n.png

I hope that we'll be seeing a good price movement from now on. Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

Sort:  

We need more working nodes on Bitshares!

Great idea. Someday everyone will understand that you need to keep your own node.

It's true, but as of now we need to assure that no problem will occur whenever a user will try to use our platform.

This is also true. Supported than could. 🙃

I looked into what it would take to run a public node, the server requires a ton of memory, the minimum price for such a server in the cloud is over $600/month at DigitalOcean. The process of setting it up and maintaining it looks fairly complicated, so I'd have to pay someone with those skill sets. It's too bad because the Bitshares network badly needs many more good nodes. It's not very fun when the nodes go down or are slow while you're trying to show off the awesome tech of Bitshares.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97