You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitshares. The Window of Opportunity Is Closing.

in #bitshares6 years ago

I hear what you are saying. We do need to act and grasp the opportunity while it is there. I would point out that -in my independent observation on the number of accounts holding BTS -a proxie for people using bitshares- it has grown from 35,000 last fall (oct 17) to 90,000 (feb18). So in the last five months it has tripled. That is not exactly stagnating.

Sort:  

I understand your reasoning, but I would argue that it is the volume of transactions on the DEX, not the number of accounts that constitute adoption. I would love to see data that supports anywhere near a tripling of transactions since October.

Is there anyone who can gather and display that data?

OK. First off -generally yes- volume of transactions is a very good indicatior. Here are two websites that show numbers. https://www.cryptofresh.com/assets and http://open-explorer.io/#/assets Now. I would like to warn you that I have seen crazy data at these websites(result of bad coding). The websites do not go back in time. I did look at them in the fall.

So let me throw some more warnings out there, you have to also be aware of "wash trading". It is easy to fake volume -take two accounts and transfer a bunch of coins back and forth a bunch of times. This happens regularly on scam coins listed there. That said, I have seen seen these numbers rise. Normally, in Oct there was around 40 million a day in US dollar equivalent volume. Recently there has been 100 to 140 million a day. I just saw today one said $12 million so I don't know what is up. All of this to say I think generally, both market volume and numbers of accounts have doubles/tripled in the last few months.

So the problem with USD volume is when the price of BTS goes from 0.88 to 0.22; USD volume falls by 75% as well. And just to be clear I have seen scam coins have a volume of 10% of the daily volume (IE it looks like there is $45 million of volume but $5 million is a scam coin so that number is off 10%.) Transactions are just as easy to fake as volume numbers. (it is all done by computers...). When it works there are some real nice charts on the cryptofresh site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53