You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GRAVITY.IO - Graphene Project Review #2

in #bitshares6 years ago

So I had spent some time really getting into the gravity aspect of the blockchain. I had some security concerns, particularly with wash trading and the re-weighting of the voting protocol. While I acknowledge issues with the some of the current blockchain products, this was working to improve upon, for a while I thought the protocal could be hacked, I spent some time looking into it as there was a contest going on. As far as "gravity" it was suppose to give more weight to the more activity money. Which is an interesting and intriguing idea, As I looked into it, ultimately that -while not set officially- was going to end up being only about 10-20% of the weight. In other words it was going to be 80% DPOS and 20% proof of recently activity via some algorithm. I think this made it effectively not so hackable to most people. However, I still felt it was hackable by someone with a lot of money and a willingness to trade a lot. So feeling that manipulation was still possible by a whale, and not worthwhile or possible via a smaller account, it made me lose interest in it. The project raises some interesting and intriguing possibilities, and I had some great conversations with a few people involved in the project, but I don't see the huge economic benefit -surpassing other block chain projects- going forward. This project does have an intensely complicated documentation which I was not fully capable of understanding, but if I can't understand it mainstream adoption could prove difficult. I will watch this one from the sidelines for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89