Sort:  

Interesting question. Quite hard to find an answer. Same situation here on Steemit. Should I run a node or not?

It's not hard to find an answer to the question of witness pay at all, if you care to look. Cryptofresh (when it's running) provides all you need to know to calculate it. As for "laying out my books", which is akin to your question, I don't feel that is reasonable to request. I'm paid to do a job, evaluate the results, not the efficiency of how I use my pay.

Thank you for your answer.

Why single my witness out? There are 25 in BitShares and I am one of a very small minority that even provide regular reports. What you're asking for is more personal and IMO not appropriate.

I appreciate your interest, but why do you want that info anyway? It's not up to me what witness pay is. I am providing far more info about my witness operation than most other witnesses. I have operated more seed nodes than any other witness in BitShares. Yet you choose to needle me.

I did ask, so I guess I shouldn't be too down on you for responding. My apologies. Perhaps you should explain why I should provide such info when other witnesses don't. It would give them a competitive advantage over me.

If you're a shareholder of a company, is it reasonable to ask employees of that company what their pay is, or is it more appropriate to ask the company management? In this case the company management is the BitShares committee and shareholders at large, and witnesses are simply employees, so to speak. It's an analogy, not literal. Witnesses don't set policy, they merely "witness" and validate transactions others create.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46