You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to join the HERO Challenge as Leader and Participant

in #bitshares7 years ago

I wrote some about the theory of HERO recently; my first post suggests that HERO isn't going to work how Stan and company expect, my second digs a bit deeper into why.

Basically, if you're shorting HERO, you need to be aware of the likelihood that HERO should trade on average above its price feed.

Sort:  

Thank you! I'll do some further reading.

I think the HERO concept is interesting, but it contains some weird little hidden risks that stan never mentions.

Thank you so much for your post links! I just finished reading them both and really enjoyed them. I still have a lot to learn, but I think I mostly track with the conversation.

I created some HERO to play around with this and before reading your article I ended up initiating a settlement. I tried selling, but there wasn't enough liquidity. I'm long BitShares, so I currently see HERO as just another mechanism for shorting the USD. The settlement price, currently, seems better than the price I see being traded, so I just went with it. This is my first time doing a settlement, so I'm not completely sure what will happen. My margin ratios are currently above 6:1, but if someone else is at 5:1 or 4:1 and they happen to be the lowest ratio, will they be forced to buy my HERO and give me BitShares? I think that's how things work, but I didn't realize it was based on whoever happens to be the lowest collateralized position.

I agree with you, I think this is a very interesting project, and I like how you are talking about it respectfully and asking important questions. Great stuff. I can't upvote your month old posts, but I'll upvote some comments to spread some love. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63678.85
ETH 2623.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85