Learn about Bitshares! It's a blockchain financial layer :)

in #bitshares6 years ago

Sup everyone! How have you all been? Let's talk about Bitshares today!

bitshares-logo.png

Firstly, sry that I'm not blogging as much as I used to. I'm trying to take it easy for a month in Southern Thailand before heading back to the USA. Here's a view of my "office" for the next month.

office.jpg

Ok, back to work here.

So, one of the big reasons that I was able to comprehend the value of EOS very early (< $1) was b/c I understood the power of Bitshares). Remember, Bitshares was created in 2014 and @Dan envisioned it to be a serious competitor to Ethereum. The technology in Bitshares could support a much larger community and process multiple times more transactions per second (tps) than ETH. We, fellow Steemians, have benefited from the same DPoS technology.

Bitshares is a smart contract enabled blockchain, a decentralized exchange (DEX) and has a very mature financial layer (I'm not getting in to the governance side of things in this blog post).

Basically, you can create your own tokens, write smart contracts to manage the tokens, use the wallet as a decentralized exchange and take advantage of various other token instruments that track alongside the price of non-blockchain assets such as Gold, Silver, the USD and other global currencies.

Coming from an Engineering and Offshore Banking background, I was able to quickly appreciate the technical prowess and financial capabilities that Bitshares offered that no other chain was able to offer.

Here's a few screenshots of the Bitshares wallet and DEX.

image.png

image.png

Why did Bitshares not catch on and compete like Dan thought it would? I'm not entirely sure, but that's a topic for another post.

Now that I understood to capacity of Bitshares, I could envision a similar implementation inside of EOS. Basically acting as the "financial layer" to support the many, many tokens that will inevitably be created as the EOS ecosystem grows and attracts more developers, entrepreneurs and investment.

Another very cool aspect is that anyone can build their own wallet and decentralized exchange front-end for Bitshares, just like they can create a new website front-end for Steem. Currently, I'm writing this post on Busy.org, but I know that many of you will read it on Steemit.com. Two interfaces that interact with the same blockchain. You see this same thing in Bitshares. The "official" Bitshares wallet (the DEX) is one way you can store your tokens and use the exchange, but other wallets and exchanges can be built to interact with the same Bitshares blockchain. One example of this is "Cryptobridge".

Website: https://crypto-bridge.org/

From their FAQ: "What is the difference between CryptoBridge and Bitshares?"

CryptoBridge is not a fork of BitShares/Graphene, it runs on top of the BitShares blockchain, much like other BTS Exchanges do. However, there are two main differences to any other BitShares Exchange:

CryptoBridge provides more decentralisation when it comes to the gateways, normally a BTS Gateway is a central point of failure because the Gateway is just operated by the company owning the exchange. The user is dependant on the gateway to deposit/withdraw his funds. In CryptoBridge, a federated distributed network of gateways, operating world-wide, makes sure that there is no single point of failure whatsoever. In fact, this network will continue to operate if CryptoBridge (the development company) goes out of business.

The second USP is the introduction of the BridgeCoin Profit Staking coin which shares 50% of the DEX with holders. No other BitShares exchange offers a mineable token.

See there? Isn't that awesome?! We may get in to what bridges and gateways are later.

So how do you get started? Well here's some of the content that really helped me learn very quickly.

Bitshares.tv (start here)

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChtICzF0ZEhhgoMA8YWhULw

Bitshares.org

https://bitshares.org/

Dan Larimer's blog

https://bytemaster.github.io/

Hope you found this helpful! Always do your own research and don't take anything I say as 100% truth. Question everything.

In Liberty,
Ashe

Check out my podcast and visit my homepage!

Homepage: https://www.AsheOro.com

Podcast: https://www.LibertyentrEpreneurs.com

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/c/LibertyEntrepreneurs

Sort:  

Thanks for the post @ashe-oro. New to the #cryptocurrency world myself, articles like these and your work on #libertyentrepreneurspodcast have been instrumental in my constant growth of knowledge over the past several weeks. I'd love to get the chance to meet you at #anarchapulco one day, hoping to be free enough next year! Keep up the great work of building liberty everywhere we go! #carryon

thanks for stopping by @burntoblog! i'll def be at Anarchapulco next year and never year afterwards :)

Hi ashe, it is very amazing that i see you talk about bitshare, because that is very interesting for me for it's decentralized system. I will be glad to see your comment about my "qouarkchain" post. (last post). please check it, is it good project from your view?

How you always do this fam?

Relevant af bc I'm looking into BTS now as a new exchange. Not a big fan of coinbase, and I'm looking to get away and find a new fiat/crypto gateway. @lost108 has been talking about BTS for a few days in a group chat we're in, and I decided to try it out. Just downloaded it last night before work, and I'm gonna play with it this weekend.

Jealous of your office view, btw. What's brining you back stateside?

Awesome, glad you've tried it, the BitShares desktop app is the best and most secure one. Atm, BitShares fiat gateway is closed, but EasyDex has a fiat gateway running, they are built on BitShares blockchain so you can give it a try, you can log in on EasyDex with your BitShares credentials. Wish you a happy trading :)

the fiat gateways will always be a problem, unfortunately. Hopefully we have an economy that isn't based on them soon.

just trying to network and go to some conferences.

Coincidentally I just made my first cryptobridge stake today, I staked a small amount for one year.

Now my question is:

The 100% I'll get, is it minus the 50% from staking profit shared?

how's the staking going for ya? What type of returns are you seeing?

Lol the amount I staked is too small to even mention in public, but I'll say it anyway. Lol
I staked 5 for a year. Maybe when I save enough from my Steemit earning, I'll top up.

I've not checked the earnings since I staked

Screenshot_20180522-231616.png

Funny as it may seems, got my bitshare account registered few days ago and never knew it supports a whole lot of token and which whaleshares is the most popular I have heard of. I will check out cryptobridge, thanks for this

now thats a great view from you office :D bitshares looks interesting i might have to look into it :)

it's hard to work hard some days ;)

Thank you for this concise intro to BitShares. I really love BitShares and I think it's only going to grow.

ur very welcome. Just watch what gets developed on the EOS financial layer..

I'm excited to see how that goes :)

Your post is very good!


++++Vote++++

You really expect to receive a vote for this

She is happy bitshares user. 😂

Great information, thank you for sharing with us, greetings from Venezuela!!!

Incredible work I hope you follow me as I will do I hope to have your support!

Hi, @ashe-oro! Thank you for your articles. I learn a lot with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87