You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: User Guide -- How to create a Backup file (.bin) first time.

in #bitshares6 years ago

Hey..
I "only" have a cloud wallet..

I have the same problem.. I cant take a back up.

but i have my username and password safe. I also wrote down my private keys.

Is this safe? Or is a local wallet more safe?
Cloud wallet sounds like an exchange or something because its online..

Or doesnt it matter if i keep my password safe which kind of wallet i have?

Thank you very much!

Sort:  

The security of either type is roughly the same. If you have your username and password, that is all you need. Having the private keys saved is also a good idea. That's essentially all the backup file is anyways.

The whole "cloud" vs "local" naming scheme is nonsensical. They are both essentially the same thing. In both cases the "logging in" happens locally and nothing is actually stored in the "cloud".

Thank you very much for your help and reply!
One last thing please (because i have read it above):

If my computer will be damaged or i want log in from somewhere else:

Then my username and password will also be enough if i enter my wallet over the cloud wallet?

Because normally you have a 12 word pass phrase or something.. But here username and password will be enough? Also from another device?

Yes. With a "cloud" wallet your username and password will work from any device.

Thank you very much for your help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25