Bitpay card review!

in #bitpay8 years ago (edited)


Bitpay card review

So if you have not heard of the Bitpay card.. It is a debit card that allows you to load bitcoin like a prepaid card.

It is a little different than the Visa Shift card, which connects to your Coinbase wallet and allows you to spend Bitcoin from your Coinbase account anywhere Visa debit is accepted.

Now I have been using the Shift card for a minute now, and it has worked great!

And at first I wasn't even able to load any funds to Bitpay..

But then I tried a few days later and it works now.

After loading I tested this also at Walmart and it was successful!

And then this happend..

So if you have withdrew to a Bitcoin wallet before.. Like with blocktrades.us then you are familiar with having to type in the amount of bitcoin you want to withdraw sometimes from both ends, and when I was trying to do further tests I went to add $1

And after typing in the exact amount it needed for $1 which was like .0016 I got this message..

Which basically means that in the 30 seconds of sending from my Bitcoin wallet the price of Bitcoin changed and still needed 1700 Satoshi which would've cost me 20k Satoshi just to send.

[Here is a converter for Satoshi I made if you want to know more about Satoshi]

So really at this point I will need to do more tests, and even see if I can pinpoint what happend when I added the $1 and I will also do some tests to see if I'm able to withdraw from ATM as well!

Sort:  

Cool post, do you have any info on whether these cards are available in Australia? Also are the cards capable of tap and go?

I checked on https://bitpay.com/visa and it shows that it is not available in Australia..
But you might try https://www.shiftpayments.com/card

Great post! This is the first time hearing about receiving bitcoins into a visa card. Never even thought of it til this post! Thank you.

But how does it work? Does it have a wallet where I can send the bitcoins to?

yes it does

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94