You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first ASIC mining experience so far...

in #bitmain7 years ago

I’ve been poking around the idea of doin a little mining but just haven’t decided to pull the trigger yet. This is some helpful info. Thanks. I’m no computer genius by any means. I know enough to get me into trouble. 😜. What is the cost difference between the ASIC miner and antminer? What are your thoughts on gpu mining? My gpu on my computer doesn’t work with windows 10, so I’m goin to be getting a new one and was wanting to use the old one for something. I can’t remember what gpu I have. My bro in law built the pc for me. Thanks again for the info and costs associated with your mining set up. STEEM ON!!

Sort:  

The Antminer is an ASIC. I also have a 5x GPU mining setup. I like both. ASIC can only mine the one algo, but GPUs can mine lots of algo's. ASIC is WAY more profitable, but it really depends on your budget. Since I don't have much of a budget, but going, seemingly, half and half between ASIC and GPU is working out good. Dual mine ETH + DCR on GPU, and sell hashpower to NiceHash / ProHashing for ASIC seems to be doing me good. Build up some ETH (which is always good) and get some extra BTC scratch. :)

If you have a older GPU, prob wont be able to do anything in regards to ETH, but maybe mine some SmartCash. Network is low hashrate right now. I have a cheapy old GPU laying around on SmartCash and getting about 10 a day. Thats how ETH started. People could mine MULTIPLE ETH a day. Even when I started, my one GPU could mine a whole ETH in 30 days. Now its half an ETH in 2 months for all 5 working together. Difficulty has blown up THAT much. INSANE.

Shows how much I know. Lol. That’s what I’m looking for is a little scratch on the side for fun. Then it might get into something a little more serious. Thanks for the info man. Now it’s convincing the wife 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77