Why I Removed Funds from Bitfinex Months Ago

in #bitfinex8 years ago (edited)

Creepy thing happened today. Apparently Bitfinex was hacked? I hope I'm first on the scene reporting this one.

Sorry. Sick sense of humor. If you can't laugh at this stuff folks, believe me, things can get a whole lot worse quickly. I pray we never look back on this sort of stuff longingly.

Despite that, it sucks and black hats are gonna be black hats. I would say cowards, but they're intelligent and use that to malicious ends whether we like it or not.

Best case scenario, a compromise would be offered. But just like the DAO hacker, it appears this is another Blacky McBlackhat. Not fun. But lessons learned.

Anyway, a few months back I had some spooky experiences trying to withdraw BTC from Bitfinex. Slow to no confirmations, and no blockchain movement to support that any transfer had started.

For any of you crypto newbies out there, this is known as an 'indicator' in analysis circles.

I connected with a customer support indidual via Reddit (interestingly enough) and he sounded swamped. I could just sort of read it in the tone of his message. Maybe sixth sense because I do similar work.

Bottom line: I got spooked from Bitfinex and haven't been back since. Glad I listened to my gut.

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.6 and reading ease of 81%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

I like @isaac.asimov . i find that rating scale intriguing. Plus it provides an organic data point for running link analysis on sybil accounts

I like @isaac.asimov too. I never trusted bitfinex since their last hack and when they pulled their servers a week or so ago I knew they were a manipulative and scandalous exchange. I called them out on their shady moves last week. Here's the link. https://mobile.twitter.com/domavila/status/758105629345079296

... its like we're part wizard! :)

Hahaha Blake!!

you know, i was going to post a thread asking for issac... i think its neat.

Seems to be an awful lot of Ernest Hemingways around these days

As long as I'm not writing equivalent to the HODL dude, I'm happy.

I'd prefer Philip Kindred Dick - it'll be real Ubik story. Will upvote him

Who knows, maybe its soul of Isaac Azimov is trying to contact us. ;) We never hear... As always

I never was in it. But I've got out of Coinbase recently. The same signals

Time to start transferring my BTC to a paper wallet. I sucked at trading, anyway.

I don't get why anyone would keep any coins in those sites. I keep all my funds offline, if possible, for long term storage. The only time I transfer is when I plan on selling.

True!
I noticed what happend when BTC dropped to 555$ when Bitfinex was offline. I knew sth was shady and not to transfer any coins to Bitfinex. It all has started on 20th of JUNE.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74