Bitconnect: a balanced argument with myself, out loud...

in #bitconnect7 years ago (edited)

I've been reading up on Bitconnect.

The reckless part of me wants to put $1010 in and see what happens. If Bitconnect shuts down and my money is gone forever it will suck - but it's not the end of the world.

I have a few questions that would benefit from answers or some guidance to before I make any rash decisions. I would be much obliged to hear what people have to say... perhaps my thoughts will help some of you as well.

My main concern is: If Bitcoin/the cryptocurrency market starts to go down (( hypothetically )) what will happen to the interest offered by Bitconnect? Will it remain around 1% or will it go to 0% ? Worse still, could it be that you start owing Bitconnect money - like negative interest? I've not been able to find any info about this on their website.

If, again hypothetically, Bitconnect were to cease existing or shut down operations - what rights would the users have to their initial investment? And how about the interest generated on their account up until that point? For example, if the capital release hadn't yet occurred?

Some thoughts: If one were to invest the $1010 in Bitcoin and some other top altcoins - surely you would be getting more than 1% each day on your investment (if the current trends continue). It won't be compounding but even in Bitconnect its just the USD value that is compounding and you are actually receiving BCC tokens which you have to exchange. USD to Bitcoin has been steadily de-valuing since beginning 2017.

I understand that for @trevonjames (and a few other people) Bitconnect is super profitable because he/they earn so much on referrals - increasing their "interest" by well over 1%.

I have to admit the whole concept of Bitconnect is a pretty clever idea - albeit somewhat shady.

My current attitude is fuck it... I could at least try Bitconnect. I like to see the compound interest work and the spreadsheets suggest it will be profitable over time... however, I am debating whether it will be worth it in the long run, considering I could put $1010 into Bitcoin, Vertcoin etc. and probably do well, if not better, in the same period that it would take me to re-obtain my intital capital.

Plus, if this is a Bitcoin / Crypto bubble, and things start going down - I at least have some control over my investments to pull out or hedge with something else.

I find it hard to get over the notion that Bitconnect is a bit dodgy - the video from the recent bitconnect event is well cringe and made me not trust the Bitconnect team and it's devoted supporters. I don't like the idea I'm contributing to making the Bitconnect founders a shit ton of money.

I guess it's both a moral dilemma and a risk - but possibly one that pays off.

Sort:  

If you don't mind the risk, and potential loss. Then go for it, roll the dice you either win big or lose big! Good Luck!

Thanks for the response

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65