You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Rise And Fall Of Trevon James

What a great and in depth post. I feel truly terrible for the people who lost their money in Bitconnect. A few of my friends were talking about it online and thinking they should invest and share it. I had heard negative things and it seemed too good to be true so I stayed away.

I also tried to warn a few people about what I had learned and how it was going to end in people being scammed. I was met with negativity and verbal abuse so I stopped talking about it. When the day finally came I couldnt beleive just how fast and how bad it all collapsed. I went straight on to some videos from Crypto Nick, Trevon James and Ryan Hildreth etc.. the way they were talking and shrugging it off was an utter disgrace.

I am new into Crypto. Well I say new, I have been aware since the start as I am slightly geeky and just interested in many things that others arent. I dont really watch too much TV, not into Football, Reality shows or Soaps it just depresses me that so much of humanity is consumed in totally unproductive and detremental habits. I mined a few Bitcoin many years ago and left them in a wallet (that I have never found). Was only 3BTC but they were worth nothing and I moved on to other things and slowly forgot about the new hype of Cryptos all those years ago. Once the price rose and fell then rose again I tried frantically to think how I could recover them but its not going to happen. I learned the hard way and had to write off a sum of money, which to me as a disabled parent supporting my partner and three children on my one wage is a life changing amount.

Instead of dwelling on my error I decided to follow cryptos loosely and just see what happens. I was intrigued at the tech, the innovation, the potential to make money and to achieve some of my life goals. So recently I began investing my savings. A few weeks passsed and I have a small portfolio now that I have put several thousand pounds of fiat into and again seen it dwindle. I believe things will turn around and I havent just further halted my progress and trying to acheive my goals but it is always a concern. Anyways I am going off subject, the reason I mentioned all that is to highlight that to many who lost their money there would certainly have been many in a much more precarious situation than mine. Many who were desperate, maybe they were facing losing their homes, maybe they couldnt support their family, maybe they have health issues that require money to get the right treatment. There could be any number of reasons for people to jump blindly into a scheme like Bitconnect. I have been thinking about it more and more lately and the reality is I will never know all of the people who lost out or just how badly their lives have been changed. There will be people who have been left ruined and until this scheme was in front of me I never imagined just how people would abuse something potentially so great as the blockchain and crypto currency for something so vile.

I hope one day all of those who lost out can get their money back. It would be nice to set up a fund in which people could donate some cryptos and either carefully trade with it or wait for the market to increase in value to build the pot up eventually enough to offer something of some substance back to them.

I really want cryptos to be the changing of the world for the better. Not to be the tool of evil folks for their own gain. Maybe I am delusional. I dont desire to be rich and as I have got older I dont even desire many things I have some ambitions in life but they dont involve exotic cars, big houses or exuberant amounts of money in my bank. I need some to get by and get annoyed when i make stupid mistakes with the little that I have but if I ever get my little cabin in the mountains hopefully one day I will have no use for money at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64