Altcoins advice needed

in #bitcoins7 years ago

RPPDd2A.png been researching cryptocurrency for a while now and after watching a lot of videos its finally given me the push to get involved. im not a rich guy but can spare £100 a month and have a decent size bonus coming up. i need some advice from the community. ive done a lot of research and have set up wallets and have bought a small amount of bitcoin from coinbase, however i cant seem to find where to buy other currencies. I am interested in buying steem, golem and maidsafe. BTW i am in the uk if that makes any difference. Im looking at 10+ years investment as lets face it its still safer than a bank. Any help would be very much appreciated. Ant

Sort:  

Shapeshift.io is a convenient way to swap one crypto for another.

I've used it to swap my Ether for more Bitcoin but there are other crypto swap combinations available.

I recommend Poloniex. Its got a load of altcoins and is pretty secure. Just make sure to enable 2 factor authentication, and dont keep too much on there. I lost my password once and the support was helpful.

Thank you.

Establish accounts on exchanges like Kraken, Poloniex, Bittrex, etc. There are a dozen of them. Look for the ones with the highest volumes...typically Poloniex, but some alt coins don't trade on Poloniex, so you have to look elsewhere.

Thank you. I have signed up for poloniex but couldnt find a couple of coins, i just assumed everything would be on there. Its not the most user friendly interface either. I guess its back to researching a bit more. Thanks for the advice

Poloniex is definitely the way to go in my opinion. I just wrote an article here on Steemit about altcoin investing pitfalls and strategies. Click on my username to check it out and let me know if it is helpful to you.

Much appreciated i will have a look.

Update.

I think i have got my head around it all. Ive sent my bitcoin balance to poloniex and transferred the bitcoins into steem. Ive only invested £10 just to play about with it and understand how it works. so far ive only lost £3 which seems to be transfer fees, Im not concerned if i lose it all as i would rather understand it and lose a small amount than lose £100s.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33