I watched the BitcoinABC fork live!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoinnews7 years ago

The magic number was 478559 and the first block of Bitcoin ABC (BCC or BCash) was mined by ViaBTC approximately 5 hours after the fork. I believe it was a record block size of 1.915 MB – nearly double the cap on the original chain -- and probably because it took 5 hours to happen. That's my best guess anyway.

BitcoinABC.jpg

At the time I was able to put this post together, we're already at 478562, which took about about 15 MINUTES for three more blocks! WOW, that's pretty impressive in my opinion.

And apparently it's begun trading on Kraken, Bitfinex, and Bittrex... And if I'm correct, we're working our tails off to get that available on Tradeqwik too!

If you don't have an account with Tradeqwik, I highly recommend signing up. Visit @tradeqwik to see the latest updates and get in on VIVA Coin and TQS. Seriously. You won't regret it.

Here are the two sites I was watching:

btc fork monitor and blockchair.com

Happy Fork Day!

I guess if you're lucky enough to have some BTC, you got a little bit richer today. ;)

Sort:  

Cool!
You were a part of history!

Yes its true we are all part of history, though you were watching the unfolding moment by moment like a tech geek! hehe

Happy fork day.... Yes i want to little bit richer. But.............

but... did you have BTC on the exchanges?
I only had a little bit here and there. Nothing significant but I'll take every penny I can get!

awww, look how fast it grows. lol

oh, I looked away for five minutes and it had it's first pump'n'dump. Mom!

Well, see which ones merchants support. Merchant support and past performance are big important factors for me

Agreed. IMO, I think BTC will remain "the gold standard" of crypto until something better comes along. It's not too far from becoming mainstream. I think I'm excited to have BCC in my wallet more as a novelty. I'll hold it and see where it goes.

Oh I'm so glad to be reading back from you @merej99! Hope all went on well for you at your son's bootcamp graduation!
@progressivechef

It was so wonderful to see my son. He's so thin! I did my best to fatten him up before I shipped him north to his father. He wanted mama's chili and I made a HUGE pot of it :)

Hahaha! That's so sweet! Oh he loves chili! Mom's food are always the best!

Yes, welcome back!!

I too watched it on the same website but you took its screen shot too. You're genius! 👍

LOL - genius, probably not. Some might say I need an intervention though. :)

It is pretty cool to watch!

I'm still watching the exchanges. How are you, John?

Good. I'm going to be back in touch with you shortly! ;)

Nice info & happy new month/ fork day!
Great info you sent here...!
So does it mean there is good chance Steem will bounce back if BTC is coming on also...

I'm just happy that it was a smooth transition without too much volatility. I'm hoping Steem recovers some more but I also remember when it was down to 12 cents so I'll count my blessings. :)

yeah right
am always a fan and admire your optimistic views
keep steeming hot
do find time to check my most recent blog short story...
thanks as always

Cool! Upvoted and resteemed!!!

Thank you! :)

Hi Meredith - Happy Fork Day to you too :-) unfortunately (or fortunately) I moved what little bitcoin pieces I had to steem when I first joined, so no BCC bonus for me. happy to see you back, I hope you had a restful week away with your son.

Restful is definitely not the word for my past week! LOL But it was so good to see my kid. He's SO THIN!
I've only got a little bit of BTC in a few exchanges and only a tiny bit in cold storage. It's all good but it's kind of exciting to see the birth of something. For me, it's more novelty than investment ATM.

:-) I'm sure you have a lot of catching up to do. I realize now that a lot happens in a week on Steemit.

That is quite the understatement and yet, it seems a lot quieter on Steemit. I haven't had time to investigate who's staying active yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49