Kraken Fiat Transfer Down Need A New Exchange - Any Suggestions?

in #bitcoinexchange7 years ago

Kraken.jpg

I have been using Kraken for almost as long as I have been using Bitcoin, which amounts to around 2 years and some change. When I first started using Bitcoin, I was using it to buy something online, which meant I got 33% off, so I was only ever interested in using it to purchase and not to trade.

Anyway I digress; Kraken has been a great exchange for me and buying and selling bitcoin has never been a problem, until now. For the last two weeks their SEPA payment system has been down, meaning I can't transfer out some fiat I have in there to my bank account.

I am trying to finish up my Coinbase account, however I've just logged in after more than a year, and was reminded why I gave up in the first place. Their verification system sucks big time, you are meant to hold up your passport to your built-in camera and then the software scans it. However no matter how steady I hold my passport, it simply won't work, meaning I can't transfer fiat in and out.

Coinbase fuckup.jpg

Essentially I'm in the UK, so need an exchange that can do BTC/GBP and rather than random search, I thought I'd ask the knowledgeable Steemit community for some advice.

Please let me know! Thank you!

Cryptogee

Sort:  

Also check out https://www.bitwala.io, besides transferring BTC to FIAT in lots of countries they also allow to pay your regular bills directly with bitcoin (plus they have debit cards as well). If you look for an alternative exchange that supports FIAT, maybe check out https://www.livecoin.net signed up there recently and it's okay-ish, the volumes are pretty low but from a FIAT to BTC perspective it's pretty ok, not sure if suitable for BTC to FIAT though.

Thanks for that info, I am going to check them out now!

Cg

How to use live coin net?

Cool thanks, I'll check them out.

Cg

I recently found them too, not sure if they're trustworthy though:

https://www.reddit.com/r/BitcoinMarkets/comments/3t4p5s/upholdcom_formerly_bitreserveorg_an_attempt_at_an/
https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/45p92a/strong_indications_that_uphold_formerly/

These posts are not too recent, but I was asking myself how the whole thing is backed. I agree that it sounds awesome at first, but I'm not sure if it is actually true what they state, couldn't find any really reliable reviews or sources claiming problems, just suspicions.

So if you do have real experience with uphold (why does it sound like holdup?? =D), please report here or even better in a separate post!

I'm in the UK and use cryptopay.me. They do BTC/GBP . You can get the usual credit card or transfer straight to your bank account. If you do the bank account transfer you have to scan it and send it to them. I haven't done this yet so don't know how painful that process is

OK, cool; I'll check them out and give it a go; thanks! :-)

Cg

Good luck! I like them but if you do find a better alternative let me know!!

Cool; will do :-)

Cg

Do they allow bank transfers to and from the account using UK faster payments in GBP?

I don't know if they allow faster payments. They do allow you to deposit GBP but I haven't done that yet

No SEPA only, they are an American company.

Cg

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83