How I lost $100k in Bitcoins...

in #bitcoin8 years ago

I was the first kid in my school with access to the internet outside of class. I grew up on the internet. I had bolt, friendster, myspace, (I wasn't cool enough for makeoutclub), I was the one who applied to get my community college on Facebook. You get the idea. So when I heard about Bitcoin in 2009 I believe it was, I figured what's $10? I had my first developer gig, and a little extra money to spend, so I invested, even though I didn't "get it."

Unfortunately, it was also the time of vicious malware and spyware around the corner at every opportunity, a time when parents warned their children of the internet. I told my mom about bitcoin. She said "Do you know anyone else that has used it?" I said no, it's new. You just download the file. "Don't download nothing you haven't heard about on our computer."

But I already had, so I attached the file to an email, and sent it to myself, before deleting it from the computer.

I'm pretty sure I am not the only one who has let go of old emails. I mean, it was yahoo, and gmail was all the rage now.

Fast forward to last month, I was on a Tinder date. I've been on the internet my whole life, and I was like what is this Tinder I have heard so much about. So, I go on a date, and my date tells me Cryptocurrency is the future of investing, and how this guy lost all this money in Bitcoin because he lost the hardware.

Me: Bitcoin? I see that everywhere now. I bought some, but I didn't get it.

Date: Yea, he bought like $20, which is worth something like $500,000 now.

Me: Worth how much now?

I wasn't sure if I should tell my own tale, I wasn't sure if I'd seem smart for jumping on early, or dumb for not having any access to it.

I divulged, and my date was like, you should try to find it. I tried. I remember in my head thinking, the extension on the file type looked like malware. I knew I wasn't finding anything, and in economic times as these... I remembered one time I was downtown in Chicago and a guy jumped to his doom because he'd lost $4 million. This isn't 4 million dollars, but for me... It's pretty close. Enough to buy myself out all my debts, with a little left to market all my ideas.

So we started talking about other cryptocurrency. Steemit came up, and now I'm giving that a try. I'm not sure how it works, or why? But I'm not deleting anything!!!!

Sort:  

That is rough. A lot of people missed the boat on the Bitcoin revolution, but you were on the boat... you just tossed yourself out of the ship!

Thats harsh dude :( Sorry to hear this. Least you can only go up from here :P

Ha! I already got .02, so as far as I am concerned I got what my story was worth.

Hi Zev, I lost $13,000 on mtGox if that makes you feel any better, now older and wiser. It doesn't stop us keep trying though right!

Yea, on to the next front-tier.

Welcome to Steemit @zev, wishing you the very best, take a look at some posts on minnowsupport to help get started. Follow me if you need free banners you can use on blog posts!

Keep up the great work @zev
Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84