Portugal Wants to Tax Bitcoin Users, despite Lack of Regulations

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Just like in the rest of the world, the media in Portugal have been all over bitcoin because of the cryptocurrency’s growing popularity… and value. Back in April, Portuguese newspaper Jornal de Negócios contacted the Autoridade Tributária e Aduaneira (AT), a financial organism similar to the IRS that’s part of the Ministry of Finance, in order to know if bitcoins were taxable.

Journalists asked organization employees one very simple question over the phone: are bitcoins taxable? The organization’s employee who picked up admitted she had no idea whether or not citizens should declare bitcoin earnings, as she wasn’t qualified to answer the question. She promised to call back within 24 hours after reaching out to their superiors.

Read more here: https://www.cryptocoinsnews.com/portugals-ministry-of-finance-wants-to-tax-bitcoin-despite-lack-of-regulations/

Sort:  

...

I wonder how they will get it done. Maybe the will have to involve the exchanges. I hope they are not successful because everyone will follow. That will get into everyone's profit and that will be no fun.

That will be hard...

I'm hoping they fail miserably

They have much more to worry about than a couple of € that can be made from the bitcoin profits of the Portuguese users. Then they'd need to have access to the exchange's records, and then some more details. I don't think they can tax us.

I totally agree. We don't need government involvement. This is for the people.

A gente vai já preencher o anexo J... Just wait a minute... Seated! Maybe lay down and wait for me to fill anex J, that's my advice to the government. :)

Hello Serggio

I see your reputation score is at 32 already and you just joined this month. What is you secret? Please let me know. Thank you John

I don't know lol

Seriously I'm new too but I haven't been that lucky.

I am starting a new cryptocurrency opensource project which will give power to the people, and make us rich ,who in ?

Damned governments!!! go to hell!

how they would know that you have Bitcoin in first place, cash it to paypal and you are good, government only want to make money out of everything those greedy bastards,

I'm sure Portuguese government want to tax it like they tax everything, but for now it's still ok!

the government is Portugal is broke so they are trying to do anything to generate income. They have already tried to get money from the people for taxes and that has failed miserably!

Wow, i didnt know it. I will resteem it for my followers. Too much interesting. Ty for sharing this

Bitcoin? what is that? never heard of it.

Are you living in a box? Or are you teasing?

Teasing of course!! Look at my blog 😉
I will just pretend I know nothing 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45