The Problem with Bitcoin: High Transaction Fees

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Although I did not get into bitcoin early enough to make massive profits, I do hold some bitcoin in paper wallets. One of the biggest problem with bitcoin, in my opinion, is the transaction fees. Making microtransactions using bitcoin is horrendous. For example, if I see a YouTube video I like and the content creator asks for donations, he or she usually asks for donations via Patreon or PayPal. However, often I don't want to give money using PayPal or Patreon due to privacy concerns, so if the content creator accept bitcoin, I can send, say, one dollar worth of bitcoin, but when I send the bitcoin, the bitcoin wallet app normally takes away a large chunk of that money. For example, is I send $1 worth of bitcoin, I've seen 50 cents worth of that money be used for fees.

The solution to this is to use altcoins. Looking at the chart below, the average transaction fee for bitcoin is about $4! The other altcoins such as bitcoin cash, litecoin, dash, and even dogecoin, all have average fees below 50 cents. This may in part be due to the fact that bitcoin is the most dominant cryptocurrency, which means it has the highest network congestion. However, to what degree is it a problem inherent in the bitcoin protocol itself?

Screenshot 2017-08-20 at 10.22.09 PM.png
Source: bitinfocharts.com

Sort:  

This has always been the problem with btc and i have suffered from it many times too especially when i was using coinbase.
i advice you use blockchain wallet to save bitcoin because you can set the fees which is better than those wallets that just show the fees

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32