All I want for Christmas is...Bitcoin?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Walking the dog with my wife today, she asked me what I would like for Christmas...

I couldn't think of anything. Except Bitcoin.

I suppose it's a good problem to have -- not wanting anything. It's not even really a greed-thing at this point -- it's more the entertainment value of watching the drama of the market -- price rises and drops -- all like an exciting game of poker.

I'm not really the type of person to want lots of stuff and am pretty content with what I have (I admit, I have a soft spot for cars, but that's not something I can expect to receive for Christmas!). But, I do enjoy the thrills and spills of the crypto market. It's just so captivating.

My kids have also hopped on the Bitcoin train and have both expressed interest in it. I had thought of gifting them with a little for Christmas, too -- just a bit for a little savings or spending money in the future.

So then my question is, what would be the best way to give or receive Bitcoin as a gift? Which method of "gifting" would you use? Go to a local Bitcoin ATM and hand over the little paper wallet as a gift? I don't think there is such a thing as a Bitcoin "gift card"... and just giving someone cash and saying, "buy Bitcoin with it," kind of misses the mark, in a way. Maybe set up a wallet for them and just hand over the recovery phrase? That could be fun...

What do you think? What's the best way to "gift" Bitcoin to someone?

image source:
http://www.testatinromania.ro

Sort:  

Bitcoin not great for gifting, slow transaction and high fees.

True, but I like the idea for a long-term hold gift.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73