You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I'm using Bitcoin’s Lightning Network in the real (third) world!

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

"Well, in places like Cuba they make less than $2 USD a day! Imagine having to pay that amount in fees for a phone recharge... It would be a real problem. However, with Lightning Network, I paid a laughable fee of only 0.000000293 BTC (0.002719089 USD). A very small fraction of a cent!"

Wait! If someone makes $2 USD daily, then that's only $60 USD in a month (30 days).

I currently live with approximately a $267,40 USD pension-like monthly income (in Central Europe, not from a third world country!) and I can't imagine how someone could live with $60 USD/month!

Steem and Steem Dollars (SBD) should have a wider acceptance.
Imagine that you recharge your phone with Steem and/or Steem Dollars (SBD).
Absolutely zero transaction fees. No transaction fees at all!

Sort:  

Notice I said "less than $2", the average salary is actually $29.6 USD a month, as recognized by the statistics office of the regime itself. Cubans manage to survive thanks to the black market, the underground economy and family members abroad that have escaped and send remittances and, phone recharges like the one I describe in my post.

Source:
https://www.cubanet.org/noticias/296-dolares-mensuales-ascendio-el-salario-medio-cubano-en-2016/

Google translated: https://translate.google.com/translate?hl=es&sl=es&tl=en&u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cubanet.org%2Fnoticias%2F296-dolares-mensuales-ascendio-el-salario-medio-cubano-en-2016%2F

regards @xplosive

Yes, I know you said "less than $2 USD".

I just calculated with daily $2 USD and said I can't image how someone could live with that income, while I also live with a low pension-like income, but not so low!
$29.6 USD as a monthly income is even more ridiculous!
That's actually less than the half of the previously mentioned $60 USD!
So they are officially living with less than $1 USD/day?
I seriously didn't knew that the situation is that bad in Cuba!

All the best to you in Cuba!
I really hope that the situation in your country will soon change for the better for all of you!

Best regards,
Xplosive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72