How I made $200,000 on BTCjam

in #bitcoin7 years ago

By 2012 I had heard of Bitcoin, but I had thought it was totally ludicrous that it had any real value and I assumed it was just a bubble waiting to pop any day. But in 2014 I stumbled on to BTCjam, a peer to peer bitcoin lending platform, and I was intrigued. So I signed up for a Coinbase account an started lending on BTCjam. In the early days the interest rates were astronomical- hundreds of percent APR often. And, amazingly, borrowers were regularly paying these loans off. Sucked in I was, and I ended up throwing my spare money into he game. Of course, over time, it turned out most borrowers were, in the longer run, scammers or, possibly, in some cases, well intentioned folk who just eventually couldn't make the payments. The huge LTCgear scam played a major role in producing many loan defaults as well. Nonetheless, I didn't manage to lose all my Bitcoin, and actually basically broke even. The subsequent meteoric ascent of Bitcoin value enabled me to sell back my cost basis in Bitcoin and ride the profits up over the $200,000 mark. Just dumb luck!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing amazing content. ;)
Cheers from @sologimi.

Thanks- bit of an update. I've kept my cost basis $0, but I've diversified into ETH, XRP, LTC, ANS, and XTZ, so far. Cryptocurrencies apparently still have terrific potential for appreciation.

Congratulations @wintermute! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @wintermute! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Update. Now up to more than $500k. More ahead?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00