Charlie Lee, Roger Ver and the Big Bet...

in #bitcoin7 years ago

 https://twitter.com/SatoshiLite/status/921701035491573761 

This strange tweet from Charlie Lee's account on Twitter happened...  It outlines the terms of a  huge blockchain wager without escrow and with the crypto community watching...  

Cryptocurrency legends have wagered 250 BTC on the value of bitcoin versions — should another hard fork happen in November. Litecoin creator and “2x” opponent Charlie Lee offered the bet over Twitter, and “Bitcoin Jesus” Roger Ver accepted it.

 Charlie Lee [NO2X] 

 My trade with Roger Ver is all set. Here are the terms we agreed to. Let the chips fall where they may!  


 Is this good for Bitcoin?  ... or does it add to the idea it is the "Dream" of naughty hackers, mob style players, sinister hackers throwing around massive amounts of their Internet money.  No matter what it does to the image of crypto, it will be fun to watch. 


Someone should setup a SteemIt pool for wagering what will happen with BTC during the upcoming hardforks..

How is this any less exciting then sporting events?

What are your thoughts on the biggest Bitcoin wager?

@whatsup
 

Sort:  

250 btc ? wtf man just give me 1 btc lol 😂

@whatsup,
At twitter I heard their arguments few weeks back! But I didn't know they bet on it :D
250 BTC! WTH they bet on 250 X 6000 = 1.5 Million USD :O Just imagine how much they earned by holding crypto!
I hope Lee will win this 250 BTC bet!

Cheers~

Behaviors like these worry me, I am having a hard time taking any of these guys seriously, they lack imagination and maturity...the world is facing serious challenges and they haven't shown any readiness in dealing with these crisis...it seems to be a game of intellect to show who's correct and who's wrong....i would only take them seriously when that community awareness becomes evident and their self-interest isn't apparent....the ugly face of this cryptocurrency space everyone seems to be concern about grabbing for themselves and they wish to replace the present financial system, we can't be serious with this approach...Is this about changing and impacting lives or about building personal lives, I sign up for changing and impacting lives, wealth would come along but seems like that's their main concern

While I agree in part, I heard a great comment...

"bitcoin" is a currency and shouldn't hold any political positions. I think Bitcoin is big enough to support different views.

Yet, the culture can bother me at times as well. I guess I could argue both sides.

That is indeed a huge amount they are talking about .
Who knows what might happen but as far as BTC is going does it really matter ;)

that's a huge bet !!

That would be huge news for crypto currency users. Sometimes come to the difficulties. But we have to hope to BTC is high up level in crypto market. Dont keep any doubt My opinion is BITCOIN is biggest Crypto.
Upvoted & Resteemed

This is approx. 1.5million USD mate!!! This is really crazy stuff! How I wish I could have 5 BTC in my possession right now...and they are talking about 250!

wow interesting news, bitcoin is unstoppable now and 8k is well in range, thanks a lot for sharing intresting news, upvoted and resteemed

That's interesting news.. don't what exactly will happen, but I am sure if a hard fork happens again all he Alt coin price will go up.. Steem also will go up...
Nevertheless BTC will remain as the king in crypto..
Cheers!

@whatsup - Oh my goodness ma'm, 250 BTC bet means a huge amount of money... Seems they are going crazy ma'm... nice you decided to share this news ma'm... Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78