So where has the smart money gone this last 12mnths?

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

I've been keeping my eye on the price of steem and steem dollars since I joined steemit just 6months ago. But obviously in the last few days everyone's attention has been drawn to the crazy fluctuations in the crypto markets.

So it got me thinking, don't panic it didn't hurt and I am OK. What would my return be if I had invested in steem and bitcoin exactly 12 months that ago and just let it ride and cashed out today.

OK, let's do some fag packet mathematics!

Bitcoin:

IMG_20180118_220807.png

1yr ago the price of bitcoin was $897.33

Screenshot_20180118-220055.png

And its price today is $11778.70

Screenshot_20180118-220108.png

So by dividing today's price by the price a Yr ago we get a return of 13.13 times your original investment.

Screenshot_20180118-221207.png

A very healthy return.

Steem:

IMG_20180118_220754.png

1yr ago the price of steem was $0.16

Screenshot_20180118-220155.png

And the price today is $4.26

Screenshot_20180118-220134.png

Divide today's price by the price this time last year and you get a 26.63 return on your original investment.

Screenshot_20180118-221728.png

So if you've been around the blog a few times and have been worried that the price of steem has been beaten down. Or maybe you think the steemit platform is no good! Maybe you just wish you had invested in another cryptocurrency just remember this. Steem has not only out performed bitcoin but it has more than doubled it's performance.

Congratulations, give yourself a pat on the back for choosing steem.

If you are interested in maximum returns I. E. If you had played smart and cashed out at the zenith of both bitcoin/steem I'm happy to do the calculations and research and let you know

Sort:  

STEEM is a winner for sure. The coin is doing fantastically well before the steemit.com platform even leaves beta. We have a lot of good things to look forward to. @ironshield

It's a volatile marketplace, that's for sure!

You took em to school on that one buddy... full STEEM ahead.

Choo-choo!! Exactly. Most people focus on price and not return. I would rather pay a penny stock that jumps to $1 than a big player that only gains 20%

Thanks for helping us regain our perspective. It's been sort of sad watching rewards drop over the past few days; but this is not time to give up.

Yeap Steem really did jump... I didn't arrive in time for that jump, but I hope I arrived in time for the next one :)

By the way, I clicked this post because I thought it could have more pictures of your wife.

Cheers

I'll see what I can do in my next blog... You better give me a nice upvote for this!! Lol

Lol funny story I own no bitcoin, don’t see a use in it, there is better crypto that has reasons to operate, bitcoin is like a noob entry to crypto that’s why people pushing up the price and selling it high than crashing it. Don’t get me wrong bitcoin is the OG but at the moment I don’t see a use in it , great post welshstacker

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by welshstacker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44