SAFELY Store Your Keys -- THE BEST WAYS!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

index.jpg
Hey all. This is a story about key storing. We all work hard for the money, so hard for it hunney -- So protect it.

WHAT I DO:
First off, one thing that I don't really have to worry about is people in my home. They are all very trustworthy and don't really understand how much of this works. Because of that, I am either ahead or perhaps behind, depending on how one looks at things. These methods might not be for everyone, but they work for me.

For my keys I have book--a tiny five by seven address book. In it I alphabetically write down all my keys and passwords. If you are truly worried about someone in your home finding the book, encrypt the keys yourself in some way. For your passwords, if you like to use the password: creamgetthemoney -- in your password book replace much of it with underscores so that it reads: cream__________y. For password variations for different accounts and exchanges maybe do xcream_________y or xcream_________yX or xcream_________yXXX or xcream_________yX! or xcream_________yXYZ!!! and so on and so on.

For encrypting the keys, choose a specific letter--upper or lowercase, say capital s (S) and omit that letter as you write, replacing it with an underscore. Not the most foolproof method, but it should work in most cases and should be moderately difficult for anyone to decode.

So yeah, I know, I know, writing things down? That's the big secret? Definitely not!

I also keep an excel file. Everytime I create a new account or new wallet, I write the passwords down, but also copy and paste directly into an excel. Both methods have saved me before. I've had something copy wrong accidentally, cutting off the first or last character, and of course have written something down wrong.

For the excel file use the same encryption methods as noted with the pen and paper.

Cool! But what if my computer crashes!? Damn, I thought you'd never ask.

Every few months I back up all of my .dats. I place these .dats into a dated folder. All the .dat folders are relabeled from "wallet.dat" to, lets say, "PIVX.dat" for example. That folder that I have created, I then take it and copy it onto two Class 3 USB drives and two CDRW's. Both USB drives I wrap tightly in plastic wrap. Then, I take one set, a USB and CDR and place that into a safety deposit box. The other set I hide in my home.

So that's it! That's what I do. These methods have definitely helped me before. Tip and upvote! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55