How Many Of Your Friends Follow Bitcoin & Crypto?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Bitcoin is everywhere on the news right now, but when it comes to actual use, I know very few people actually involved int he crypto space.

After being involved in crypto for the last 7 months, I'm hooked. I am convinced that the blockchain technology is the future and there is some good money to be made by investing in crypto. I've told friends, family and posted on social media, but at the end of the day there are very few people that I know that are diving in.

I've got two friends that were very early adopters. I got three friends who have started since June and a few who are still toying with the idea of investing in crypto. Other than that... nobody really seems ready or willing to learn.

My mother-in-law even said it was stupid to teach my 8-year-old son about the blockchain and how it works. I told her I was preparing him for the future. She laughed. ON a side note she still has one of these phones...

(all GIFs from www.giphy.com)

It is easy to say that the crypto space is growing and it is, but we are a long way away from mass acceptance and mainstream application. 

We are at the very beginning of this whole thing and that is exciting. 

I may be basing this opinion on my own personal experiences too much, but then again most of the people I know are just normal Americans living their lives. When most of my friends start using crypto, then I know it is mainstream. 

So my question for you is, how many friends do you know follow Bitcoin and have invested in crypto? I'm really curious. Let me know in the comments and let me know how long you think it will take for crypto to go mainstream?

Thanks for reading.


Sort:  

Is funny because now i hear more and more in cafe talks about cryptocurrency, people are crazy with the gains

Most of my friends are skeptical and the ones who are involved are very passive investors - not really following or buying anything other than Bitcoin/ETH.

I think this is because even though a lot of them have technical / computer science backgrounds they feel like there's too much hype going on and aren't willing to put time in to separate the signal from the noise.

Great reply... you got a new follower. I'm in the same boat. It takes a lot to learn just to invest. A lot harder than just calling a stock broker. I agree that most are not willing to put in the effort and that skeptical side is taking over. lol. Thanks again and nice to meet you.

I also began understanding crypto after I joined Steemit in June...

I have told friends here in Uganda too about crypto but they are not taking it serious.

I am convinced that the blockchain technology is the future

The percentage of my friends is still minute and this is Africa...probably only 8%.....!!!

I started the same time. 8% is lower than the percentage I know. Interesting. Thanks for the great reply.

80 percent of my friends follow bitcoin and steem because its a best way to earn money i love bitcoin currency

That is awesome. Where do you live? You got a new follower by the way.

Just one friend here, unfortunately!

Glad to know that I'm not alone. lol. Thanks for the reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34