You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin shoppers go bonkers. Bitcoin on steroids. Like a vortex bitcoin is sucking in the non believers. Futures trading on CBOE starts this Sunday.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

But the thing is that Bitcoin doesn't exist in a vacuum. It exist along with over 900 coins and most of them are garbage. But there are many technologically superior coins with added functionality. http://www.blocktivity.info/
STEEM alone can handle 500 times the Tx of BTC and still not break a sweat while being Free and confirmed withing Seconds.

Dash, PIVX, NEM, Verge are all better products with functions BTC can only dream of. And here is a quote from Charlie Lee who created Litecoin:

“The one major thing missing from Bitcoin and Litecoin being good money is fungibility”

“So if I, lets say bought like 10 Bitcoins on an exchange and deposit it to my wallet and want to pay someone for coffee or for whatever right, I want pay someone back $5 for lunch. If I send him $5 from those 10 Bitcoins then he knows that I have 10 Bitcoins or 10 thousand dollars in my wallet and he can track where that money came from and where I spend it next”

“It seems kind of silly that if I pay him $5 all of a sudden he has access to all my information about how much money I have, where I’m storing it, how I’m using it, and he can track where that money came from and where I spend it next.”

“Its not about buying drugs, it’s about when you are using money, you don’t want to have to decide which one of the coins to spend due to it having some history”

“It’s like if you take out your wallet to pay someone and you have to decide which one of the $20 dollar bills to use because one of the $20 bills is tied to more private information you don’t want anyone to know about.”

Sort:  

This is a scary revelation. I dont want people judging me bsed on where i got my bitcoin from, or where i spent it, or worse, how many bitcoins I have left.

That's why privacy coins are important. Privacy and private property is a measurement of civilization. Komodo supports decentralized private ICOs. Zcash even had praise from Snowden. So that's a very big green flag. PIVX was the first and only PoS coin to implement Zerocoin protocol. I'm personally very impressed with zk-SNARK tech (including the cool sounding meaning of the acronym)

Dash has trustless mixing which has still unbroken privacy which they keep on improving with 4+ million USD per month budget.

Monero is not something I'm willing to trust after their privacy got completely and utterly broken. They claim they've fixed and it's probably true. But the track record of the team isn't so bright.
https://www.reddit.com/r/dashpay/comments/65fz68/dashs_privacy_feature_has_never_been_broken_turns/
https://getmonero.org/2017/04/19/an-unofficial-response-to-an-empirical-analysis-of-linkability.html

Verge(XVG) seem pretty impressive and I'm positive about the project. But I don't think I've done enough research to make a claim about the coin.

Hope the info was helpful :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52