How I got scammed into a fake crowdsale - 2nd round of Basic Attention Token

in #bitcoin7 years ago

So early this afternoon, I got an email from the Basic Attention Token (BAT) slack channel saying that there was a 2nd round of crowd sale going on in their website.

1.JPG

Since the email was from the official slack of BAT, I decided to go ahead and buy some BAT at real cheap price. 6400 BAT per 1 ETH.

When I clicked on then link given in the message, I was redirected to the BAT website.

2.JPG

What I did not notice was the typo in the website link. It was www.basicattentlontoken.org instead of www.basicattentiontoken.org. There was a "l" instead of "i" in the word "attention".

3.JPG

I went ahead and sent 1.25 ETH to that address not knowing that it was a scam!

I tried reaching out the BAT team through slack channel, but in vain! They said they would not be able to help me with a refund, as they did not have my ETH (obviously!).

As I am writing this article, there are 3 transactions sent to this address, out of which one is mine :-(

4.JPG

I have lost my hard earned money through this scam. Just writing this article so that nobody else in the steemit community are aware of this.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Good Knowledge. I'm making a mental note to check the address bar thoroughly. The scammers are getting creative.

Thanks for showing us why we need to stay on our toes.
sorry that happened.

Yeah, i was in a hurry to make sure to get some BAT before the sale is over, considering how early the 1st round got over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70