BTC blockchain, why are you so big!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

So i am resyncing my bitcoin qt client to see if I have any BTC in an alt wallet.bat i forgot about and while i still have 20 weeks left to sync, the bitcoin folder where the blockchain is stored is already at 110gb.

This is pretty massive, considering the drive its on is a 500gb SSD, I will have to move it or delete it.

Does anyone know an easy way to transfer the blockchain to a secondary HDD?

Actually, thinking about it, what benefits are there to keeping the blockchain?

btcbumperdecal.png

Sort:  

If you think 110GB is too much, check out ethereum's size jumping to 180GB in one year!
https://steemit.com/ethereum/@megalith/the-ethereum-blockchain-has-bloated-by-700-last-year-about-180gb-now-murphy-s-law

I prefer hosting DOGE blockchain with its reasonable 20gb :)

Wow didnt know about ethereums blockchain been that big.

I just checked mine and it says its 45gb, I have read somewhere that it does depend how you implement it and i did use geth to sync so that could be why its lower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60