WARNING !!! Exodus wallet has major bugs !!!

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

1B74EDFD-3DE7-47E2-8EB3-2F36595DA3F5.jpeg

Okay. So I’m big fan of exodus wallet. Exodus is what I always recommend for beginners.

Then today I️ was planning on buying some more bitcoin so I️ can exchange it for bitshares as lately I️ have been buying too much eos and bitshares was getting jealous. Lol. Jokes aside.
I️ check my exodus wallet and it was USD 25k more than usual. I’m like what? 3 btc showed up out of nowhere. Okay. So i tried to send it. Error
Tried to exchange it for eos. Error again.
Then I️ realized the little btc before the strange 3 btc out of nowhere I️ had is in limbo. Can’t withdraw. Can’t exchange. Joined slack and they ran me thru the typical things to do as update. Refresh. None fixed the issue.
Then they asked me to download the jaxx wallet
I’m like why. ? So I’m double-checking making sure this isn’t some phishing deal. All checks out.

Download the jaxx wallet using the same brainkey restore words as exodus. Which I️ thought was strange .
And now my btc balance is correct and I️ can withdraw. Very strange. Must be some bug.

Then I️ crawled thru the slack channel and saw numerous ppl saying they had lost funds and experienced bugs
Immediately I️ apologized to my friends and clients to transfer all funds out of exodus and into the bitshares DEX.

Crazy night.

Had really high hopes for exodus. I’m gonna stick with proven tech for awhile. I’m sticking with bts DEX.

Sort:  

Thanks for the great info TT..sorry i didn't see it when you first wrote this...cheers friend

no worries im thinking its mainly with btc...cuz my friends and clients only use exodus for trades to get other coins like eos...when you have little it doesnt mean as much but when you have as much as i have too risky ima stick with bts dex f* that

Roger that friend

also with the path that DPOS tokens and uSD pegged smartcoins are going with many instances rising even when other in phase with btc correcting ...that tells me that possibly DPOS tokens will be rising against the grain.....and having a large reserve of bts with very high ratio like 6x to 8x .. after the 5th wave correction ...is a great time to instantly create bitUSD and gobble up other profitable coins...a basket full to take shave off profits and buy up more bts...ppl dont realize that BTS DEX is a smart coin factory...with no interest ...very low risk as long as you keep ratios hig and have a cushion your all good...bitshares is the golden bar to the willy wonka bts smartcoin factory

I know TT...every time i think about what they offer it makes my brain swell...they will be so massive..anything Dan touches turns to gold...btw, my jaw nearly hit the floor when i saw the fees for exchanging on Exodus...that is ludicrous..i understand they need to make revenue but come on!

i agree its pretty bad...what i have been doing is sending small amounts to binance and exchange for eos..after i get eos i send back to DEX...then repeat ....as sometimes the eos price in DEX in high compared to other exchanges...i used to use changelly but eos is disabled there strange

Good decision moving your funds in Bitshares DEX. Just wait for Agorise wallet and we are all set.

Honestly I’m kind of Leary of new tech. Until it has been proven for years. Still that’s not a guarantee either. I️ keep a cloudbor account model on bts dex for everyday trading. And have another wallet in dex that’s the wallet model that is more secure for coins when’s they aren’t being traded. And I’m still waiting for bts support for ledger nano s. I️ hope we could make a proposal to make that happen as agorise abandoned the project for ledger Nano support as there wasn’t enough funding and interest.

Great... help me out ... whats the safest place to hold my EOS --- I know EOS recommends having a way to snapshot (i guess to get free airdrops somehow) --- please let me know!!! Thanks.

i moved all my eos into bitshares DEX....i can actually sleep at night now ...

That's what scares people like me from putting more into wallets like these. 3 BTC just appears out of nowhere? Download a different wallet and the key is the same? Sounds shady.

Congratulations @tt-dogg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hell @tt-dogg can you help me? I sent a memo in your wallet.

Depends. If it’s for steem bts or eos promotion.
I’m okay. But not for bitconnect promotion as I️ don’t support bitconnect.

let me know

It's for my newly post I'll use it in minnowbooster. It's about Bitshares.

Thank you so much @tt-dogg you are a real life saver.

sent...no worries let me know how it goes if it works show me also how to use thanks

also would you or someone you know be interesed in translating my posts...obviously they would get paid...fyi thanks

@tt-dogg open minnowsbooster.net you will see a chart that tells weather a bid is available point your it's auto update no need to refresh. Then send SBD to minnowbooster(no STEEM, SBD only) then place your bid if it's available in the chart then paste the link of post you want to boost you can try it on my cover music if you want hahaha!

@tt-dogg here's my gmail [email protected] message me there. Translate to?

good to know, i just dL exodus today :/

thanks for warning!

You are very welcome sir. !!

Just trying to restore my exodus wallet and the 12-word phrase won't work. I literally copied and pasted it from my old wallet and saved as a text file, that was uploaded to my drive on the cloud. I don't see how or where human error could have occurred. I've checked spelling, sequence, everything... really?!? Did I really, actually, fuck up and somehow make a human error when backing up my wallet? Pretty sure it was not typed, but copied and pasted. There goes more bitcoin lost in cyberspace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31