Coinbase having withdrawal issues/backlogs due to price crash today, be careful with withdrawing today!!!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Always read the warnings before withdrawing. Withdrawing now could mean you have to wait a few days for them to manually fill your order, or weeks. Be careful! Just a friendly warning, as I myself had litecoins tied up in an exchange for 30 days before over on Polo(never using again).

https://status.coinbase.com/

coinbase slow withdrawals.png

When huge volume spikes happen they get backlogged on all this crap. Which is why if you want the ability to trade your coins and want to withdraw them when you want, keep them on a local wallet client on your computer. Exchanges regularly have withdrawal issues and can take a very long time to process your transaction when they have a spike in volumes.

Support tickets take days or weeks to be resolved. If you are keeping coins on an exchange know that you risk this by doing it, and you also risk that exchange being hacked, ahemmm MTGOX anyone?

https://www.wired.com/2014/03/bitcoin-exchange/

Always be safe, always back up your wallets multiple times :)

3fawe.jpg

Sort:  

i hate when these crypto exchanges have so many problems, i had to wait 5 days for poloniex to give me my 24 steem, I thought i lost it.

Yeah! I hate it too. I had to wait 30+ days on less than 20 litecoins or so... I really thought they were going to be lost. Luckily I got them and sold in time of near a high price.

I have a bitcoin address with coinbase. Which is best?

Best thing to do is let your coins sit there for another day or so, wait until the "withdrawal warning" is done with. Then withdraw your coins to your local wallet on your PC.

You can download a wallet from here > https://bitcoin.org/en/download

Bitcoin Core initial synchronization will take time and download a lot of data. You should make sure that you have enough bandwidth and storage for the full block chain size (over 145GB). If you have a good Internet connection, you can help strengthen the network by keeping your PC running with Bitcoin Core and port 8333 open. Read the full node guide for details.

So, about how long will it take? I tried to get the Etherum mist not too long ago. I ran it 10 days at first, because they said it may take awhile. Then figured something must be wrong. I started over. After it had tied up my computer for almost 2 more weeks I gave up.

Nice lips

STEEM On!!

Thanks for the warning, I'm keeping all my coins on a separate wallet.

Im suprised someone doesnt create an exhange that resolves these issues. I guess if it was an easy solution it would be resolved by now.

For the most part it is really hard to do, but some things like that are starting to pop up. The issue is that the exchange has to control the private keys to the wallet addresses people deposit their coins to, otherwise they could not dispense the coins to you with you sell or withdraw basically.

I bought some BTC tonight and the first order was slow to transfer and the second one is even slower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83