Twas The Night Before Bitcoin FuturessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

After an extremely volatile week, even by Bitcoin standards, I, like many of you are waiting for Bitcoin futures to open.

Will this really create the access that I once hoped for? As I wrote recently, I find that people most excited about Bitcoin futures are Bitcoin owners, making me question how much new demand will be generated by the launch.

Recent volatility will make many participants reluctant to enter the market now - either as long or as short.

It is unclear, at the time of writing this how many clearing members will allow their clients to trade Bitcoin futures and what margins they will require (the minimum requirement that I last saw, set by the exchange was 35%, which seems inadequate given the recent volatility).

I suspect that volumes will actually be small to start and that there will be more sellers of the contract than buyers as it seems like a good way to monetize recent price appreciation and despite the increasing publicity surrounding Bitcoin, my sense is that the recent spike higher has dampened the enthusiasm for newbies to participate (yes, I used the too newbie in reference to an "asset class" with a total market valuation of greater than $200 billion (again, that was a value I saw recently that seemed in line with other reports, though it moves fast and is unclear whether it is just for all bitcoins in existence or those that are still to be mined).

bit coin.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51