Bitcoin Cash - How to claim your BCC

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

Well that was (is) interesting to see and be a part of! I tried to stay awake yesterday (I'm in Australia) and @boxmining was doing a great job keeping the YouTube livestream going but since it took sooo long to fork and mine the first block, I went to sleep... only to find out that bitcoin didn't slide that much (yet), bitcoin cash didn't dip as hard as I expected (yet) and almost all alt coins went up. Pretty much a perfect outcome so far, but I'm aware it's by no means done yet.

So now the question becomes, how to claim bcc? I decided to keep my btc on exodus and not on an exchange for security reasons, so I have my private key but didn't get the automatic bcc allocated.

To be honest, it's not that easy to find good and easy to understand information about how to import private keys into a bitcoin cash client. I'm in no rush, the key thing for me is safety and I do see the risks in exposing private keys into (potentially) dodgy wallets.

This is the article I have found that so far has made the most sense to me: https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/beginners-guide-claiming-your-bitcoin-cash-and-selling-it/

I will probably have to read it twice more even if this is already written for beginners! So I was hoping that someone already went through the process and can share some tips and tricks and recommendations with me / fellow steemians?

Thanks in advance!!

Cheers,
Jeroen (aka The Transparent Trader)

Sort:  

Congratulations @transptrader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47