Sort:  

I do receive 1024 Grantcoins every day. Worth about 50 cents a day. This number will grow over time. Since I joined they have paid about $40 worth out to me.

I assume you are referring to your ekata.social account. I have that too, currently at 94208 units (whatever a "unit" is), but there seems to be no way to collect, though I can transfer to another user, or so it would seem. Thanks for information. I believe in the Universal Basic Income concept, but I do not like the idea of it coming out as a scam. It would be like what MT Gox did to Bitcoin.

I did some more research and this is what I learned. Ekata "units" are not Grantcoins at all and can only be traded within their platform for the time being. Grantcoin is still happening and can be traded from their wallet. I made a new post about it, like I promised, that should help clear up the confusion and you can read all about it here <===Click

Thanks for the heads up! I read your article when it came out of the bull pen.

Have you ever used a trading account like bittrex? You can transfer your Grantcoins to an account like that and then sell them there for Bitcoins. Maybe I'll make a tutorial.

I would certainly be interested in that. I would be a big promoter of UBC (Grantcoin), but I don't want to be going around scamming friends and family. It would be embarassing. A tutorial is much needed, as far as I can see.

It sounds like you are saying you can transfer ekata.social "units" to a trading account. Is that correct?

I have not done it yet and was just trying to and it seems like you can only transfer between users on ekata. I sent a support ticket and will follow through.

On Bittrex, I have noticed Grantcoin being traded on the exchange so there is a market for it. I haven't checked the other exchanges yet, but all this sounds like a good idea for a post, so I'll wait until hear from support and see what they have to say first, then I'll do a thorough post on it.

Are those actually Grantcoins you're receiving or are those the coins from the "dummy" account on ekata.social. I receive those every day too, but I also received about 5000 GRT in January that was sent to my Grantcoin wallet. I was under the impression that GRT pays out quarterly to everyone that has signed up. In order to get them to send me those coins, I had to email them and tell them my wallet address. I only noticed that requirement in an email they sent me as I was looking back through it for the referal code. It isn't very clear on their website.

Here is what the email said (it's the email with the email your referal code is in);

There are two options for how to receive your Grantcoin:

Send an email to [email protected] with your Grantcoin wallet address where you want us to send your Basic Income and referral bonuses. We recommend this option for anyone who is already familiar with using cryptocurrency or ready to learn how to use it. Wallet software downloads and information about using Grantcoin wallets is on this page of our website: http://www.grantcoin.org/use-grantcoin/wallets/

Or, the Grantcoin Foundation can create a wallet for you and send you an encrypted email with the private key (a string of characters which provides access to your Grantcoin). You can import the private key into a wallet you set up anytime in the future. If you choose this option, you understand that our organization has access to your key until you transfer your Grantcoin to a different wallet. If we don't hear from you otherwise, this option will be automatically selected for your account.

Hope that clears things up a bit. I find their site really confusing for information. The idea is great but trying to get people to dig through and find the answers isn't really helpful for getting people to sign up. I can't even find where they say it pays out every three months on their site. Maybe it was in another email somewhere.

@stephen.king989

This post is out of order because we are out of nesting space for comments...

Thanks for the information...

My experience was similar, except that I opted for having them creating a wallet for me. With all the confusion, I thought it best to do things their way. I guess I was wrong.

I get the 1024 "units" every day, but I never got any Grantcoins and I was accepted and got the emails etc. in October of last year. In fact, I posted about it here on Steemit. See https://steemit.com/money/@transhuman/universal-basic-income-ubi-is-now-reality

As I mentioned to @luzcypher, I would like to promote it, but I can't when I have not seen the actual coin after having been promised it. I've seen too many scams over the years. I'm glad you had a more positive experience.

Recently they made a switch to sending all grantcoins into a wallet within ekata.social. Just log into that and you can transfer the quarterly grantcoins to your software wallet or keep them in there. Also the 1024 units per day is not grantcoins, that is ekatas own which is different. Grantcoins basic income distribution system is now automatic so any bugs or confusions you experienced in the past are probably fixed now.

Thanks. I appreciate your assurance. I checked ekata.social and thing seem okay.

Ooops, out of space...

Regarding:

I have not done it yet and was just trying to and it seems like you can only transfer between users on ekata. I sent a support ticket and will follow through.

On Bittrex, I have noticed Grantcoin being traded on the exchange so there is a market for it. I haven't checked the other exchanges yet, but all this sounds like a good idea for a post, so I'll wait until hear from support and see what they have to say first, then I'll do a thorough post on it.

Great idea! I look forward to any news, one way or the other. Let me know if I can help as I am interested in getting to the bottom of the matter.

Thanks again...

You need to get your account approved first.I just recently got mine approved.The grantcoin foundation is understaffed and not well funded,so things have been moving slowly. The units are just for testing purposes.You can talk to the ekata social founder on the facebook page.Too bad they provide no info on the site..It's called beta,but it's more early alpha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72