Trace Mayer Is Now On Steemit!

in #bitcoin8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemitsters!

I am Trace Mayer an early Bitcoin pioneer, evangelist and investor in core blockchain infrastructure including the largest merchant processor Bitpay and largest safe [never been hacked] exchange Kraken. I also host the extremely popular Bitcoin Knowledge Podcast.

Lately I have been hearing a lot of amazing things about Steemit from popular Steemsters I listen to including Jeff Berwick, Charles Hoskinson, Domi and Charlie Shrem. So, here I am checking it out :)

Feel free to post some questions and I will try to answer as best I can. If things go well then in the near future I will likely do an AMA here!

Verification: 

— Verification for checking out @Steemit and plan on making my first @SteemitPosts. - TraceMayer (@Trace Mayer) August 18, 2016
Sort:  

Glad to see you here. What does it take to get SteemDollars traded against USD and EUR on Kraken? I wonder why they have added Ethereum so early and haven't mentioned anything about SteemDollars yet? Do you know who to contact to discuss further steps?

Hello Xeroc,
Trace Mayer’s arrival on Steemit is certainly a Big BULLISH signal. A Kraken adopting of Steem would be one more Huge BULLISH signal.
Bellow, you’ll find the answer I got from Kraken’s support team regarding your question one month ago. You can join them here: [email protected] ( the service is excellent, fast, friendly, polite…)
I’m very happy with that exchange! Very wise at decisions making, like for instance with the ETH/DAO/ETC issue. I was glad to receive my ETC for free after the fork… all exchanges are not that fair ;-)
Could Trace’s membership incentivise Kraken to make it’s mind about Steem ? I hope so 
Cheers,

Josh (Kraken Support)
Jul 14, 06:58 PDT
Hello,
Thanks for the suggestion, I will make a note of your request, but to be clear we don't have any plans to add it at this time and are only considering it as a feature request that we may or may not accommodate.
Best,
Josh
Kraken Client Engagement Team

Your request (number #) is currently marked as "Solved". This means we think your issue has been resolved. If your issue is not yet resolved, please let us know by replying to this e-mail or visiting the support page at https://support.kraken.com/hc/requests/#.

Nice to see you on here Trace! I told Andreas Antonopoulos about Steemit, on Twitter, and he immediately replied by unfollowing me. Some have eyes to see and some don't. Your eye-sight sir, is 20/20

A mind is like a parachute; they both have to be open to work. And what better way to understand something that to get practical experience by using it? That method sure helped me a lot with figuring out Bitcoin!

Hah! Nice. Well, I've tweeted at Andreas multiple times about it (again today, in fact), and he hasn't yet unfollowed me. We'll see. Has he made any public statements about his views on STEEM/SBD/Steem Power/Steemit?

He catches hell from the maximalist side anytime he says anything remotely positive about anything not-bitcoin.

Probably playing the long game on this one.

Interesting. Makes sense. Muh tribalism! It impacts us all.

Prior to Steemit, I had zero interest in any other altcoin. Nothing else had a mechanism to overcome the huge network effect bitcoin enjoys, regardless of how superior the technology might be. With 3 second confirmation times, 100k transactions a second throughput, AND a mechanism to grow the network with everyday users who've never touched cryptocurrency before... that's exciting stuff.

Oh, btw, I got in a twitter discussion earlier today which included Tone. He favorited this tweet which I thought you'd enjoy. ;-)

lukestokes Luke Stokes tweeted @ 18 Aug 2016 - 17:27 UTC

@Tone_LLT I mean no disrespect, but your debate with Blake included (IMO) some misrepresentations of the facts.
cc @timpastoor @aantonop

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

As a bitcoinclassic dev, the only think I disagree on with him is him claiming that Etherium is not a competitor to Bitcoin. Otherwise he's a nice guy and has good ideas.

ps. I just joined; see my welcome post for details on who I am ;)

No idea. It seems the STEEM/SBD/Steem Power, etc. is different from the underlying article posting technology which seems like more of a competitor to Medium, Reddit, etc. Really I need to spend some time reading the whitepaper to get a better understanding of how everything works.

In short:
steem is like having an assent in an decentralized platform.
Steem is inflated 100% per year. From that round about 90% goes to steem power holders 5% goes to curators, 5% converted to steem dollars as post reward.
(not mentioning the miner / witness reward)

steem power is steem that is ¨trapped¨ for at max two years (in average 1 year) . Steem power equals the power of your voting influence, urrently mainly used for distributing the post reward and electing the witnesses that take are of the blockchain consensus.

Steem dollars are pegged to the dollar and should in the long run give a stable currency to do commerce. The witnesses decide on the interest on steem dollars, currently it is 10% per year. Steem dollars can be exchanged to steem equal to the average steem price of one week. This conversion takes one week.

That it, have fun!

The white paper is a great read. I actually read it twice. It's not just tech, but includes some economics, psychology, and philosophy as well. Just be careful though, it hasn't been updated. After reading it, it's a good idea to go through the steemit blog and dan's blog (along with, possibly, the releases on github) to get a feel for what has changed since the white paper.

It may take a few sittings, but it is well worth the read. Rather ingenious designs and incentive schematics.

About halfway through it. Very creative and could be a very elegant solution to many problems. Extremely exciting.

hi @tracemayer , nice to meet u here

Good to see you here Trace.
I'm an indirect investor in Kraken through Bank 2 the Future.
Been an admirer for a while now.
Keep it up man! BTC 2 da mooooon!
(pretty soon too, WW3 should do it.)

upvote for u here, welcome

You are going to have to bribe him just like every other "big" name on here.

He might me a little miffed that steemit wallet has 3 cryptos but no room for bitcoin . I know I am.

My favorite anachist!!!

the man with the magic voice, just pierces right thur

A big welcome @tracemayer really pleased you have joined Steemit. To the readers who feel this post is overpaid because of lack of content, I voted because Trace has done a lot of good for Bitcoin, his passion and enthusiasm is certainly contagious and he is well respected and has a large following in the Bitcoin community. So in this case I didn't vote for content, but rather in the excitement of having a person who have introduced so many people to Bitcoin, who may do the same for Steemit.

+1 Wish I could upvote but I keep getting an error in the browser :(

Lol that's ok, you're over cooked it.

Thanks for joining the community! Your expertise and different perspectives regarding the Bitcoin and blockchain related world as well as your public identity I believe will definitely benefit the Steemit community as a whole in the long run.
~ Np

Nice! Wondering when all the other Bitcoinstars will follow?

When they get off their yachts and land their planes? ;)

Welcome @tracemayer feel free to ask for help from anyone in this community. Excited to see what you will bring to steemit.

Image259b1f.jpg

:) Glad you appreciated my humor. I like to do a creative photoshop picture for some of the newer big names to arrive and add a little flair of welcome. Wonder what your future posts will bring. I'm relatively new to your work, but I do find you fascinating.

Thanks.

Here is an impromptu 50 minute talk I did on Bitcoin that seemed to generate some good discussion.

So, that should give you an idea of the type of intellectual horsepower, ability to organize the information and make the case. Of course, I am not sure it gets any better when I actually have time to prepare ponder, organize and prepare remarks ;) It will be fun applying some of it to Steem. I have already finished the whitepaper and consequently started gnawing on it. I find Steem incredibly innovative and disruptive plus the potential to solve some major pain points.

That's awesome I will let you know my thoughts after I finish watching my little nephews this morning. Looking forward to it.

I found this video fascinating. I wondered if you could touch on the following. You said that their are those with affiliate marketing for amazon that are not able to be payed in dollars, but purse.io allows users to input their wishlist and and have others buy the items for bitcoin. Does that not in a way take money away from those who earned it? (I realize that they are essentially worthless to those who possess them, but shouldn't they receive fair compensation for their work and not take a cut of 20% by needing to trade gift cards for bitcoin?) Just wondered if you could touch on this briefly.

I found a lot of content absolutely fascinating that you touched on. Can you also provide a link that shows the proof that the us is printing trillions of dollars? I'd love to show some people this who do not have any interest in bitcoin

Down-voted for excessive payout.... excessive in IMHO.
Nothing against the content itself, just 100 or 250 equally good posts being paid less than a dollar(or 20) today because of such overpay.

TraceMayer Trace Mayer tweeted @ 18 Aug 2016 - 18:05 UTC

Verification for checking out @Steemit and plan on making my first @SteemitPosts.

steemit.com/@tracemayer / https://t.co/2ycyzd1BcI

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66610.55
ETH 3546.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56