BITCOIN TO GOLD (BTCAU) ratio ALL-TIME HIGH! Time to trade for GOLD or, better yet, SILVER?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

So, as you can see, bitcoin is absolutely going "off the charts" (is there such a thing in ratio land?)!  In a brief and unscientific attempt, I tie bitcoin (BTCUSD as priced in dollars) to Gold and compare prices at tops of each vehicle.  

8/22/2011, the ratio was 1 oz of gold for every 136 units of bitcoin.

1/19/2015, the ratio was 1 oz of gold for every 6.73 units of bitcoin.

12/12/2016, the ratio was 1 oz of gold for every 1.47 units of bitcoin.

5/19/2017 (today) the ratio IS 1 oz of gold for every .64 units of bitcoin.

Astonishing?  Maybe, maybe not!

So, this begs a few questions.  1.  Is bitcoin OVERVALUED?  2. Is bitcoin OVERVALUED in comparison to gold or is gold UNDERVALUED in comparison to bitcoin?  3. Where is the dollar in this equation?  Overvalued?  Complete dog-crap?  4. Further... If silver is UNDERVALUED in comparison to gold, should you trade your bitcoin for silver?

I know, you're probably thinking to yourself, "Why was I NOT paying attention to story problems in high school math classes?"  I hear you!  

So, now what?  Continue to hold bitcoin?  Trade bitcoin?  Comment below!!!!

The Maestro!

www.themaestroway.com

Sort:  

i like gold but silver is better in the long run

I CONCUR TOO! 1ST GET ALL THE SILVER YOU CAN... THEN SOME GOLD & LASTLY GO FOR CRYPTOs!

I agree, silver is the safest bet!!!!!

We see now gold and silver dicoupled.

bitcoin is a store of value like gold and silver, but also different. i think, at the moment bitcoin is a strong investment and worth to buy and hold. many people trying to make only a profit in buying and selling it. but there are also many people like Rojer Ver...


people are willing to fight against the system. they're angry! bitcoin and some other cryptos can be seen and used as weapons. overvalued? i don't think so. there is a huge emotional aspect...

Exactly! Very well formulated! ;)

I wish everyone could see it the way the Roger does! The blockchain based cryptos are so superior to fiat, that there is no way to measure the difference.

Ratios are a great metric. And, as you can see in my chart, it is very apparent that trust in the dollar is declining. But, I think crypto will eventually come under pressure.

and would i trade bitcoin for silver or gold? no, not now. because gold and silver are manipulated as hell and bitcoin is not.
of course, silver is massive undervalued - it is like @marketreport said, the most undervalued asset in the world! but it's not yet exempted from the banks.

I'm holding! I want to get some alt coins I've researched but I don't want to use my bitcoin to get them. Haha.

Awesome, bit coin is on a tear.

Should have bought it a few years ago. I still think it's a fad. To me it seems like the comex of fantasy cash. I could be wrong but I'm sticking with silver.

If silver is the most UNDERVALUED asset, then, yes, stick with silver.

i agree, recalling that pm's never go to zero.

Include BTC in the good old "gold/silver ratio" game .. Good idea! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.23
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10