Ledger Wallet Nano are now Bitcoin BIP148 secure!

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Okey so its alot of talk concerning Segwit2x and BIP148 when the fork is happening the 1st of August!

To be on the safe side and secure you need to find a wallet where you have access to your own keys. To be honest I am a little scared myself, and want to store my Bitcoins so secure that I possible can... so what I have done is to buy the older version of the Ledger Nano Wallet (not the S version). I got this cheap because but you can still buy the latest version the
Ledger Nano S!!

Well anyway I sent Ledger an email just to verify that I was secure... And this is what i got back:

*Ledger is ready for BIP148. You will be able to choose to activate it or not, providing with a switch to select between legacy and bip148 nodes.
You'll get more detailed information in an upcoming blogpost https://medium.com/@Ledger

​You can consult this good article to understand what would happen https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/bitcoin-beginners-guide-surviving-bip-148-uasf/

We are technically ready, but we can't know by now how transactions will work exactly, as it is the very first time such a fork happens in Bitcoin, and it has been sometimes difficult in other blockchains. We recommend you not to make any transaction in any chain during hours/ days / weeks (?), say enough time to observe what happens.

Best regards*

Hope this helps!

Take care,

Fredrik

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33