You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin Scaling Debate

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I dont think there should be a debate. If you have ever worked with Swift you know how slow it goes, it bitcoin is almost maxed, who cares, its still 100x better than swift. More secure than currency. Boom. Job done, bitcoin could stay exactly the same, and I would be happy. Dont need to put a bow on gold!

Sort:  

Yes but it doesn't have to be this way. Bitcoin could be 1000x better already, but it isn't because if this conflict.

Im conservative, it already works and backs billions. lets just make sure it keeps doing that. Just my opinion. I dont think either options will be what happens. Keeping it stable is prefrenced over this "better" you speak of..... much much better than swift. One tech doesnt need to do everything, i dont need lightning speed transfers in bitcoin. Although its great to have in steem or some of the other really fast ones, thats great, but as far as a store of value goes, 24 hours is the perfect time range
my take.

I agree that it's better at the moment, but if the fee problem is not solved and you'll have 20$ fees, the n the market can easily crash back to oblivion. At which point it doesnt matter.

So better take a risk now than to have a higher risk later ,is my thought.

20$ fee for how high of a transaction?

Bitcoin transactions are not paid by volume size but by TX size. So a 10,000$ transaction might not mind paying a 20$ fee, but a 21 $ transaction might find a 20$ fee ridiculous.

I have never seen a fee for highest confirms over 2USD for 5grand in BTC, do you have any experience with this fee size? Cause, I dont think people will end up using bitcoin for 20$ transactions. Thats not its purpose. Its not intended nor does it need to do that. SO We will just get rid of anyone wanting to use it for 20$ transaction to a faster more economic block chain tech!

No I told here already that I am paying 1-3$ fees right now , on average 1.5$. When the average fee hits 4$, then I'm out.

I assume if this issue is not fixed, we might see 20$ fees easily, even for 10,000 satoshi transactions.

Of course people will quickly use altcoins then, since not everyone is rich enough to afford 20$ fees on stupid TX.

Great, so dont spend 20$ worth of bitcoin.Solves that, that way, when it ends up being worth a shit ton of money, you wont care about a fee to trade it into a lighter coin if you need to make daily transactions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31